The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 10, 2005, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eau Claire,WI
Posts: 16
R1 on first base. Batter line drives a ball to the second baseman. The 2nd baseman makes the catch. r1 has come off the base. 2nd baseman throws ball to 1st baseman to pick runner off without taging. r1 is returning to 1st base. Ball misses 1st baseman and goes into a dead ball territory. Do you reward runner 2nd or 3rd? Is ruling different from asa,nfhs,and ncaa? or all the same.
__________________
DJ
NFHS ASA ISC NAFA NCAA AFA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 10, 2005, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 546
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
In ASA, Federation and PONY, you award 2 bases and allow the runner to complete their base running responsibilities. The runner would wind up on 3rd.

Can't help you with the other sets of rules.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 10, 2005, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eau Claire,WI
Posts: 16
the only question i have is i cant remember who or where i heard/read it but in some cases i thought that you award the base they are going to plus one. now if that is a false statement than awesome, i would just like some clarification.
__________________
DJ
NFHS ASA ISC NAFA NCAA AFA
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 10, 2005, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 156
That's one of those "coachisms" or "fanisms" if you will, that we hear so much of. I believe ISF may follow that procedure, but under all other codes (ASA, FED, NSA) it's 2 bases, period. Runner must complete his/her baserunning responsibilities by tagging up in this case, but she's awarded third base.

Ok, so it's U-trip, not ISF that uses that phiolosophy. All other codes, 2 bases.

Edited to coorect ISF statement

[Edited by U_of_I_Blue on Aug 10th, 2005 at 01:21 PM]
__________________
Joshua E. Allen

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 10, 2005, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally posted by 0balls2strikes
the only question i have is i cant remember who or where i heard/read it but in some cases i thought that you award the base they are going to plus one. now if that is a false statement than awesome, i would just like some clarification.
I believe that this is a USSSA ruling. I am not absolutely certain, since I do not call U-Trip, but it seems that I have read that on one of these boards somewhere.

I think we have a few blues (or "reds" )that regularly call U-Trip on the board, maybe they can provide a definitive answer.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 10, 2005, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
Quote:
Originally posted by 0balls2strikes
the only question i have is i cant remember who or where i heard/read it but in some cases i thought that you award the base they are going to plus one. now if that is a false statement than awesome, i would just like some clarification.
I believe that this is a USSSA ruling. I am not absolutely certain, since I do not call U-Trip, but it seems that I have read that on one of these boards somewhere.

I think we have a few blues (or "reds" )that regularly call U-Trip on the board, maybe they can provide a definitive answer.
In USSSA they would get 2nd. Retouch counts as the base they were going too.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 10, 2005, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
Utrip only uses the one + one in slow pitch. Not fast pitch.

I don't do slow pitch.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 10, 2005, 08:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Agree with Roger, same as rest.....
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1