The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Arizona vs. Stanford swing help

Ok, no runners on, PU needs help from BU as to if batter offered on the pitch. She went to the first base umpire on a left handed batter. The BU said yes, even though the 3BU would of had a better look. BU said she went. Replay showed that she pulled the bat back. Anytime this can be missed but why not go to the correct BU? Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 08:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,813
Are you sure no runners on? It's a mechanic I dislike, but the NCAA mechanic requires you to check a swing to an umpire on a line, not anyone in B in 3 man.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
The graphic on the tv screen that shows where the runners are at, showed there was nobody on base. Pretty sure she just went to the wrong BU. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 242
There were no runners on. But are we sure that is what she asked for? This is an olympic umpire behind athe plate, she might have been asking for something else. The 1B umpire came down and talked to her, he did not just give a signal for a swing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by DNTXUM P View Post
There were no runners on. But are we sure that is what she asked for? This is an olympic umpire behind athe plate, she might have been asking for something else. The 1B umpire came down and talked to her, he did not just give a signal for a swing.
I posted on this as well, it was plain as day, she went to 1B umpire and said "did she go?"

I'm adding post I made on this to describe 2 different situations:

Had two check swing situations I thought PU didn't handle correctly. What do you think if you saw them? I'll try to describe.

1st one was LH batter, slapper, no runners. Moves through the batter's box and slightly moves bat forward but pulls back. Ball hits batter while she is clearly in the batter's box and ball was about halfway into batter's box when it hit her. PU calls Dead Ball and awards 1B. Candrea comes out asks if she swung at pitch. PU goes to 1B umpire who, for reasons I can't comprehend, says yes she did, call changed to DB strike. Why would PU go to 1B Umpire? If nothing else I figured they should get all umpires together on this one.

2nd one was LH batter again, runner at 1B. Check swing asked for and PU again goes to 1B Umpire. There was no steal on the play. Again why 1B Umpire?

Last edited by Dholloway1962; Fri May 22, 2009 at 09:34pm. Reason: added my post to this and deleted my original post
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 View Post
I posted on this as well, it was plain as day, she went to 1B umpire and said "did she go?"

I'm adding post I made on this to describe 2 different situations:

Had two check swing situations I thought PU didn't handle correctly. What do you think if you saw them? I'll try to describe.

1st one was LH batter, slapper, no runners. Moves through the batter's box and slightly moves bat forward but pulls back. Ball hits batter while she is clearly in the batter's box and ball was about halfway into batter's box when it hit her. PU calls Dead Ball and awards 1B. Candrea comes out asks if she swung at pitch. PU goes to 1B umpire who, for reasons I can't comprehend, says yes she did, call changed to DB strike. Why would PU go to 1B Umpire? If nothing else I figured they should get all umpires together on this one.

2nd one was LH batter again, runner at 1B. Check swing asked for and PU again goes to 1B Umpire. There was no steal on the play. Again why 1B Umpire?
On your 1st one, I would assume that once the batter/runner went to first the 3rd base umpire went to the position by second base and was no longer on the line. Following the NCAA mechanic then she went to the umpire on the line.

2nd one follows the new NCAA mechanic of going to the umpire on the line for all check swings.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3SPORT View Post
On your 1st one, I would assume that once the batter/runner went to first the 3rd base umpire went to the position by second base and was no longer on the line. Following the NCAA mechanic then she went to the umpire on the line.

2nd one follows the new NCAA mechanic of going to the umpire on the line for all check swings.
You are correct on the 2nd situation about going to the umpire on the line. On the first situation, NCAA mechanic with no one on base is to go to the open umpire on the line. While the batter originally went to 1B, there was no one on base when the call had to be made, so if it was a check swing, the correct mechanic would have been to go to the 3B umpire. We still do not know for sure this is what was asked, it might have been, but don't assume this is what was asked, it could have been something else
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Exactly what I surmised as well on the first. On the second, that's what she's supposed to do.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 23, 2009, 03:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Almere (NL)
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by DNTXUM P View Post
... We still do not know for sure this is what was asked, it might have been, but don't assume this is what was asked, it could have been something else...
Larry,

I know that you know a lot of people. Why don't you ask her what she asked the BU1? I'm pretty sure She it wasn't asking whether the sun was shinning in his eyes...

(off topic)
Give my regards to mrs DNTXUM P! Miss the 2 of you
__________________
Sander




Ik ben niet gek, doe alleen alsof! Gaat me goed af toch?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 23, 2009, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Alex View Post
Larry,

I know that you know a lot of people. Why don't you ask her what she asked the BU1? I'm pretty sure She it wasn't asking whether the sun was shinning in his eyes...

(off topic)
Give my regards to mrs DNTXUM P! Miss the 2 of you
Thanks, Sander. I miss you guys as well. I am trying to find a way to get back. Way too much fun over there.

I will ask Kevin when he gets back. If I get the chance to ask Traci before that, I will.

Our best to your family. How is your umpiring career going. Any world championships yet?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 23, 2009, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by DNTXUM P View Post
On the first situation, NCAA mechanic with no one on base is to go to the open umpire on the line. While the batter originally went to 1B, there was no one on base when the call had to be made, so if it was a check swing, the correct mechanic would have been to go to the 3B umpire. We still do not know for sure this is what was asked, it might have been, but don't assume this is what was asked, it could have been something else
I think she just messed up. After Candrea came out to question the call, she looked up and didn't see U3 on the line (he had moved to B when the runner trotted to first). So she went to U1 on the line and clearly called out, "Did she go?"
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arizona/Stanford game last night. Jerry Blum Softball 36 Sun May 24, 2009 07:10pm
Stanford-Washington IRISHMAFIA Softball 6 Mon May 11, 2009 12:29pm
arizona v. stanford boiseball Basketball 6 Mon Mar 05, 2007 07:05pm
LSU/Stanford poll tomegun Basketball 7 Thu Mar 30, 2006 05:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1