The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 08:35am
Jerry Blum
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Arizona/Stanford game last night.

Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Blum View Post
Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.
Didn't see it. I was calling games last night, but got to watch the game starting in the bottom of the 5th. Saw Stanford spank Arizona in the 5th with 6 runs.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Blum View Post
Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.
Well, it is certainly an ASA rule.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule 8-2 The Batter-Runner is Out
H. When the batter-runner steps back toward home plate to avoid or delay a tag by a fielder.
EFFECT - Section 2D-H: The ball is dead and runner(s) must return to the last base legally touched at the time of the interference.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Well, it is certainly an ASA rule.

I think it is an everybody rule!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Blum View Post
Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.
That was my friend Kevin Davis and he nailed it!

12.4 Batter-Runner Is Out
The batter-runner is out:
12.4.11 When she steps back toward home plate to avoid or delay a tag by a
fielder.
EFFECT—The ball is dead. Each runner must return to the last base
legally touched at the time of the pitch.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.
Once, a long time ago in a Men's SP league and was he loaded! Didn't even know I had called him out.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.
A couple of times at lower levels. I'm really suprised that it happended at such a high level. Thats a rec league move.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
Thats a rec league move.
The talking heads thought she didn't know the rule. I was of the belief that she just reacted without thinking.

Didn't hurt the team in the end, but it wasn't the best time to pull a Chris Webber.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.
I have, more than a few times. But, as wade noted, rarely at the higher levels!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
The talking heads thought she didn't know the rule. I was of the belief that she just reacted without thinking.

Didn't hurt the team in the end, but it wasn't the best time to pull a Chris Webber.

I have no idea what pulling a Chris Webber is...
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
I have, more than a few times. But, as wade noted, rarely at the higher levels!
It is what to UCLA out of the WS 5 or 6 years ago
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
I have no idea what pulling a Chris Webber is...
ask.com / wiki challenged?

Quote:
On April 5, 1993, at Michigan's second consecutive NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship game, Webber infamously called a time-out with 11 seconds left in the game when his team, down 73-71, did not have any remaining, resulting in a technical foul that effectively clinched the game for North Carolina.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
ask.com / wiki challenged?
"Pulling a chris webber" did not bring that up on google
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pullman, WA
Posts: 16
Kevin Davis is an amazing official!! And yes he did nail it!!
Runners return to the last base touched at the time of the pitch. So correct ruling was applied. Mark how did your regional go? And how is Ken doing?
DJ
__________________
DJ Postle
NCAA ASA NFHS
"Close only counts in horseshoes, hand grenades, and the outside corner."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video From Arizona/Atlanta Game rulesmaven Football 6 Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:56am
So, I went to an NBA Game Last Night……. grunewar Basketball 23 Thu Apr 10, 2008 09:56pm
arizona v. stanford boiseball Basketball 6 Mon Mar 05, 2007 07:05pm
Wash/Stanford game blindzebra Basketball 12 Mon Jan 30, 2006 03:21pm
Question about O-O-B call in Tenn-Stanford game Jimgolf Basketball 9 Fri Apr 02, 2004 02:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1