The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Blum View Post
Anyone watch the game see the play in I think the bottom of the 4th. Stanford had runners on 1st and 2nd and I think there was 0 outs. Ground ball hit to F3 batter-runner instead of running into tag stops then takes 2 small steps backward and is then tagged out. Batter is out and runners that advanced to 2nd and 3rd returned to original bases.

Is this an NCAA rule or is it an ASA rule? I had never heard of this before.
That was my friend Kevin Davis and he nailed it!

12.4 Batter-Runner Is Out
The batter-runner is out:
12.4.11 When she steps back toward home plate to avoid or delay a tag by a
fielder.
EFFECT—The ball is dead. Each runner must return to the last base
legally touched at the time of the pitch.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.
Once, a long time ago in a Men's SP league and was he loaded! Didn't even know I had called him out.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.
A couple of times at lower levels. I'm really suprised that it happended at such a high level. Thats a rec league move.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
Thats a rec league move.
The talking heads thought she didn't know the rule. I was of the belief that she just reacted without thinking.

Didn't hurt the team in the end, but it wasn't the best time to pull a Chris Webber.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
The talking heads thought she didn't know the rule. I was of the belief that she just reacted without thinking.

Didn't hurt the team in the end, but it wasn't the best time to pull a Chris Webber.

I have no idea what pulling a Chris Webber is...
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
I have no idea what pulling a Chris Webber is...
ask.com / wiki challenged?

Quote:
On April 5, 1993, at Michigan's second consecutive NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship game, Webber infamously called a time-out with 11 seconds left in the game when his team, down 73-71, did not have any remaining, resulting in a technical foul that effectively clinched the game for North Carolina.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
ask.com / wiki challenged?
"Pulling a chris webber" did not bring that up on google
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.
I have, more than a few times. But, as wade noted, rarely at the higher levels!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 22, 2009, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
I have, more than a few times. But, as wade noted, rarely at the higher levels!
It is what to UCLA out of the WS 5 or 6 years ago
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 23, 2009, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
So how many of us have ever called this rule? I've yet to do so.
Yes, in an ASA 16U qualifier. And I let R1 from 2B stay on 3rd, as she reached it before the step back. I sent R2 back to 1st (she was slow). OC questioned, but was fairly easily convinced.

BTW, the rule IS different in NCAA. College runners return to the bases occupied at TOP.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 23, 2009, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
Yes, in an ASA 16U qualifier. And I let R1 from 2B stay on 3rd, as she reached it before the step back. I sent R2 back to 1st (she was slow). OC questioned, but was fairly easily convinced.

BTW, the rule IS different in NCAA. College runners return to the bases occupied at TOP.
ASA needs to change it to TOP, by allowing base at time she stepped back they still allow a benefit to it. Personally, I will always send them back to TOP. Yes a rule I will not enforce properly in ASA, shame on me.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 23, 2009, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 View Post
ASA needs to change it to TOP, by allowing base at time she stepped back they still allow a benefit to it. Personally, I will always send them back to TOP. Yes a rule I will not enforce properly in ASA, shame on me.
Why should ASA change it, because you disagree?

How about the NCAA changing it to where it has been for at least the past 73 years when the ball is put into play, at the time of the INT.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 24, 2009, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Why should ASA change it
Because I disagree is the best reason I can think of But another reason is that if you don't send them back to TOP there is really no realpenalty attached to it (other than BR being out, which she will be anyway).

Didn't mean to get you all riled up Irish!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 24, 2009, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 View Post
Because I disagree is the best reason I can think of But another reason is that if you don't send them back to TOP there is really no realpenalty attached to it (other than BR being out, which she will be anyway).

Didn't mean to get you all riled up Irish!
The penalty is an automatic out attained by the defense without actually executing a tag.

Just because the defense fields the batted ball doesn't mean the BR is automatically out. Why should the runners NOT be allowed to advance while the defense is attempting to execute the play?

This is a rule which exists merely for the purpose of protecting defense players from their own stupidity. The delay is a voluntary action by the defense just like a 2B chasing a runner forced to 2B back to 1B instead of just flipping the ball to F6. The only reason the BR is out and the runner isn't for this action is because s/he has no base to achieve safely at home plate.

So, why should the team not making the stupid moves be overly penalized for the opponent's ineptness?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video From Arizona/Atlanta Game rulesmaven Football 6 Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:56am
So, I went to an NBA Game Last Night……. grunewar Basketball 23 Thu Apr 10, 2008 09:56pm
arizona v. stanford boiseball Basketball 6 Mon Mar 05, 2007 07:05pm
Wash/Stanford game blindzebra Basketball 12 Mon Jan 30, 2006 03:21pm
Question about O-O-B call in Tenn-Stanford game Jimgolf Basketball 9 Fri Apr 02, 2004 02:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1