![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't see anything wrong with this, leave the runner on 3rd. |
|
|||
|
NEI(Not Enough Information)
Ok, A slightly related though tangential question: What if the same sitch except she clearly did not leave early. The Defensive coach was yelling she left early and she returned to 3rd before she ever got home? Would that be obstruction on the coach's part? If, in your humble opinion, the rat was doing it to confuse the runner. Never thought of it before...never seen it happen. Joe In Missouri Strep throat....too much time on my hands. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Ha! That there is funny I dont care who ya are.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Ok - the runner did leave early. She has touched home plate. Can she go back and retouch third? When does she lose her right to return and retouch if she left early? Is her right return to tag up over when she touches home? When she enters the dugout? (assuming the ball is still live)
Leaving early is an appeal that you can't rule on until asked by the defensive team. If the OC is telling the runner to return to third, even though she really didn't leave early, what action as the umpire do you take? My two cents is that the runner can return to third if she thinks she left early even after touching home (she would have to retouch home on her way back). Since you can't rule on the leaving early appeal until asked by the defense why would you not leave her at third if she voluntarily returned? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I might just leave her there myself, and that is funny.. but just for the sake of a rules discussion - I dont see how you can unscore it unless there could be a valid appeal (ASA 5-5). This is much the same as continuing any number of plays that get continued after an umpires initial call (heard or unheard) "just in case".
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Cue Rod Serling: YouTube - Twilight Zone intro.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
"fielder catches ball and runner from third tags up"
This statement from from the post is pretty clear that she tagged up and then went home. Run scores, remove her from third and put her in the dugout. As stated you can not unscore her. |
|
|||
|
So you are saying that what the runner (and offensive team) thinks does not matter. If the runner tags up properly (does not leave early), she scores even if she returns to third on her own. You can not rule on whether the runner did or did not leave early until the defense appeals, so the runner only has her own and her coaches input to rely on. Rule citations, please.
What if the defense plays on the runner mistakenly returning to third and does not retire her (which you are stating that they can not). Another runner advances during the play (let's say we started with runners on first and third). The runner is now standing back on third and you take her off and count the run. The DC now argues that the other runner should be out because the runner returning to third violated (high school) 8-6-18 which states that a runner who has scored may not interfere with the defense and that continuing to run the bases and drawing a throw may be considered a form of interference. You have not addressed what you should do in this case if the runner does leave early and when a runner at third loses the right to return to third to properly tag up. |
|
|||
|
Uh, yeah... thats what I'm saying.. hell its darn near sig line worthy.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
The umpire did not "unscore" her. The runner or her coach thought she had left early and the runner returned to third to remove the ability of the defense to put her out on appeal. What rule prevents a runner from returning to third base in this case?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If so, please cite that rule. If not, take the scored runner off third base.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Those who have answered to this point have conveniently ignored the other aspects that could arise from this play.
Can a runner who leaves third early on a caught fly ball return to third after touching home? What would that runner need to do in order to return to third legally? When does the right to return to third end? Would a runner who thought she left second base early (but did not), rounded third and then returned to second (legally retouching third on the way back) be put back at third by the umpire? What about the possible interference scenario if there is another runner on base? The runner who reached home is returning to third because she thinks she is in jeopardy of being put out if she does not, but according to the positions taken here she is a runner who has scored and could therefore be guilty of interference if she draws a throw. I can not find a rule that addresses these possibilities and would like to know what rule or rules support your conclusion that the runner can not return to third. Until there is an appeal by the defense the only information that the runner has to base their actions on is from them selves and their coaches. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
| two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
| Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
| Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |