The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2009, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 117
Ok - the runner did leave early. She has touched home plate. Can she go back and retouch third? When does she lose her right to return and retouch if she left early? Is her right return to tag up over when she touches home? When she enters the dugout? (assuming the ball is still live)

Leaving early is an appeal that you can't rule on until asked by the defensive team. If the OC is telling the runner to return to third, even though she really didn't leave early, what action as the umpire do you take?

My two cents is that the runner can return to third if she thinks she left early even after touching home (she would have to retouch home on her way back). Since you can't rule on the leaving early appeal until asked by the defense why would you not leave her at third if she voluntarily returned?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1