The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangebase View Post
Question, probobly easy, but I am a new ASA umpire.

First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base. What is the call?
How does this not state that the fielder was carried/dragged/whatever into foul territory? and how does this not state that he had to run and tag the bag from foul territory?

not to pick nits.. but it looks like a pretty complete OP to me.

h3ll... why am i arguing about it... its not like i wrote it or got the answer wrong.
its all good.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
How does this not state that the fielder was carried/dragged/whatever into foul territory? and how does this not state that he had to run and tag the bag from foul territory?

not to pick nits.. but it looks like a pretty complete OP to me.
First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base.

It states that the momentum took the fielder into foul territory. Just making sure his "momentum" and "runs" were not the same action. If it were, F3 does not have the right to use the orange portion of the base.

BTW, I got some real interesting crawfish info last week.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base.

It states that the momentum took the fielder into foul territory. Just making sure his "momentum" and "runs" were not the same action. If it were, F3 does not have the right to use the orange portion of the base.

BTW, I got some real interesting crawfish info last week.
This is what my Umpire in Chief gave me:
RULES SUPPLEMENT PAGE 107
1. Appeals
A. Types.
1. Missing a base, forward or backward, or touching the white portion
only of the double base when a play is being made on the
batter-runner at first base.
EXCEPTION: A play from foul territory, or an errant or missed
throw pulling the defensive player into foul territory.

Page 83
E. When the batter-runner runs outside the three-foot lane and, in the umpire’s
judgment, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base; however,
the batter-runner may run outside the three-foot lane to avoid a fielder attempting
to field a batted ball. When the defensive player uses the colored
portion of the double base, the batter-runner can run in fair territory when the
throw is coming from the foul side of first base, and if hit by the thrown ball,
it is not interference. If intentional interference is ruled, the runner is out.

Page 84
M. The double base shall be used at first base in all divisions of play. The following
rules should be enforced:
1. A batted ball hitting or bounding over the white portion is fair.
2. A batted ball hitting or bounding over the colored portion is foul.
3. When a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must
use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion of the
base.
EFFECT: The batter-runner is out when there is a play being made at
first base and the batter-runner touches only the white portion, providing
the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base.
Once the runner returns to the white or colored portion of the base, an
appeal shall not be honored.

He states that runner would be called Safe. Interpretations?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangebase View Post
This is what my Umpire in Chief gave me:
RULES SUPPLEMENT PAGE 107
1. Appeals
A. Types.
1. Missing a base, forward or backward, or touching the white portion
only of the double base when a play is being made on the
batter-runner at first base.
EXCEPTION: A play from foul territory, or an errant or missed
throw pulling the defensive player into foul territory.
This has nothing to do with the play. This was not an appeal.

Quote:
Page 83
E. When the batter-runner runs outside the three-foot lane and, in the umpire’s
judgment, interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base; however,
the batter-runner may run outside the three-foot lane to avoid a fielder attempting
to field a batted ball. When the defensive player uses the colored
portion of the double base, the batter-runner can run in fair territory when the
throw is coming from the foul side of first base, and if hit by the thrown ball,
it is not interference. If intentional interference is ruled, the runner is out.
Again, nothing to do with the scenario presented.

Quote:
Page 84
M. The double base shall be used at first base in all divisions of play. The following
rules should be enforced:
1. A batted ball hitting or bounding over the white portion is fair.
2. A batted ball hitting or bounding over the colored portion is foul.
3. When a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must
use the white portion and the batter-runner the colored portion of the
base.
EFFECT: The batter-runner is out when there is a play being made at
first base and the batter-runner touches only the white portion, providing
the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base.
Once the runner returns to the white or colored portion of the base, an
appeal shall not be honored.

He states that runner would be called Safe. Interpretations?
How convenient this stopped at 8.2.M.3. The next paragraph (8.2.M.4) reads: On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base the defense and the batter-runner may use either the white or colored portion of the base.

What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 13, 2009, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base.

It states that the momentum took the fielder into foul territory. Just making sure his "momentum" and "runs" were not the same action. If it were, F3 does not have the right to use the orange portion of the base.

BTW, I got some real interesting crawfish info last week.
ohh im always interested in crawfish info....specially if its beer related.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 13, 2009, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
I am not getting a straight answer. I think it is a judgement call. I made a call that the runner was out. I know that the orange base is for the runner 99% of the time, however the rule book is like reading an insurance policy and I can't get a good answer.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 13, 2009, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangebase View Post
I am not getting a straight answer. I think it is a judgement call. I made a call that the runner was out. I know that the orange base is for the runner 99% of the time, however the rule book is like reading an insurance policy and I can't get a good answer.
How straight of an answer do you want? This has been given to you several times in this thread (assuming the fielder was returning to the base from foul territory, and not just stretching across the base to make the catch...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA Rule 8-2-M
4. On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base the defense and the batter-runner may use either the white or colored portion of the base.
5. On an errant throw pulling the defense off the white portion of the base into foul ground, the defense and the batter-runner can use either the white or colored portion.
Doesn't seem hard to read at all. The only person not giving you a straight answer seems to be your UIC.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Br's Rights At Orange 1b hmcproperties Softball 2 Wed May 24, 2006 12:23pm
Ref, Orange County CA wrangler Basketball 4 Tue Jan 17, 2006 04:07pm
Starting on the orange base Dakota Softball 12 Wed Sep 22, 2004 06:07pm
Orange vs. White Yeggman Softball 9 Mon Apr 05, 2004 06:56pm
Double bag at first white/orange chuck chopper Baseball 5 Mon Mar 22, 2004 10:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1