![]() |
|
|
|||
Orange Base
Question, probobly easy, but I am a new ASA umpire.
First Basemen fields ball in fair territory. Fair ball, however the momentum takes him into foul territory. First basemen runs and tags the orange base only before the runner gets to the base. What is the call? |
|
|||
out. 8-2m-4, 8-2m-5 (hrmm, ASA rule numbering has me cornfused.)
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Tue May 12, 2009 at 02:00pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The adult kickball league I play in uses modified ASA rules. I was surprised to see that for our second game, the field had the safety base since our first game did not use one. ![]() I've only ever been involved in a game with the safety base once in my life and the umpire didn't explain the rule differences well or at all. So I was trying to recall the rules I knew from the NFHS rule book and from discussions here. Because I didn't know that the BR only has to touch the orange base when there is a play at first base, I kept appealing that the runner improperly touched the white base on all of their extra base hits in the first inning. ![]() It wasn't until I had a chance to read the ASA rule book that I saw there was more to the rule than what I thought (too many exceptions, IMO ![]()
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball Last edited by Stat-Man; Thu May 14, 2009 at 09:40pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Thanks |
|
|||
Quote:
OP looks pretty complete.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
No, that isn't what the OP states, Sam....er, ...CNB.
|
|
|||
He had to run from foul territory and hit only the orange base. Does this change anything?
|
|
|||
Yes. When the defense is coming from foul territory to make the play, they are allowed to use the orange bag. OUT.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Just validates the out call. As Tom notes, as long as the defender is coming from the foul side of the 1B line, either portion of the base my be used.
|
|
|||
Quote:
(sorry, couldn't resist...going back to cave..)
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Br's Rights At Orange 1b | hmcproperties | Softball | 2 | Wed May 24, 2006 12:23pm |
Ref, Orange County CA | wrangler | Basketball | 4 | Tue Jan 17, 2006 04:07pm |
Starting on the orange base | Dakota | Softball | 12 | Wed Sep 22, 2004 06:07pm |
Orange vs. White | Yeggman | Softball | 9 | Mon Apr 05, 2004 06:56pm |
Double bag at first white/orange | chuck chopper | Baseball | 5 | Mon Mar 22, 2004 10:52pm |