The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by outathm View Post
nothing in all rule sets.
NCAA its a warning.... next one gets her a 7/or whatever is left of the game inning timeout. assuming NCAA is considered a "rule set"
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
NCAA its a warning.... next one gets her a 7/or whatever is left of the game inning timeout. assuming NCAA is considered a "rule set"
Please explain this to us. Who gets the warning, and what for?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
Please explain this to us. Who gets the warning, and what for?
fielder guilty of committing OBS gets a verbal....Umpire who made the call tells U1, who writes it down on back of lineup card.... and U1 notifies coach. or at least thats the way it was handled last night and thats how i understand it from the CCA.

wrong?
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
CNB, no warning on this play, the OBS did not happen while rounding or returning to a base.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
fielder guilty of committing OBS gets a verbal....Umpire who made the call tells U1, who writes it down on back of lineup card.... and U1 notifies coach. or at least thats the way it was handled last night and thats how i understand it from the CCA.

wrong?
Rounding or returning only.

Also, the penalty for a second infraction by the same fielder is a base award, not ejection.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
Rounding or returning only.

Also, the penalty for a second infraction by the same fielder is a base award, not ejection.
topper, don't wake him, he is still dazed.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
While I agree there could be an expectation that a defender go *poof - I guess the hang up would be a time frame as applied to a fielder being considered in the act of fielding a batted ball.

Once the ball is past the defender on the muff - are they still protected at all and/or for how long?

This is not a deflected ball scenario - so just in general.

.5 second? no seconds? 1 second?

The fielders body is immediately in the postion after the muff in this case correct?

So since they were unsucessful in fielding the ball they are considered to not be in the act of fielding it?

I'm not so sure.. but interesting discussion.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
While I agree there could be an expectation that a defender go *poof - I guess the hang up would be a time frame as applied to a fielder being considered in the act of fielding a batted ball.

Once the ball is past the defender on the muff - are they still protected at all and/or for how long?

This is not a deflected ball scenario - so just in general.

.5 second? no seconds? 1 second?

The fielders body is immediately in the postion after the muff in this case correct?

So since they were unsucessful in fielding the ball they are considered to not be in the act of fielding it?

I'm not so sure.. but interesting discussion.
ok, if im robbing you (im in the act of) if ive already robbed you or at least tried and that event ended (its something different)
no? (probably because you've shot me )
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
Rounding or returning only.

Also, the penalty for a second infraction by the same fielder is a base award, not ejection.
Yikes... i totally blew that one. ok, gonna have to do some "light reading" before my series this weekend. *&@@#$ dunno why i cross threaded that with the obstructing the batters line of vision.

Thanks for catching me on that.

but at least im not the one on the field that told me... ok thats one obs.. the next one gets her ejected and the third by any other fielder, they go and the coach goes too... TG we didnt have 3 obs last night. rofl.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.

Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Wed Mar 04, 2009 at 01:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
Please explain this to us. Who gets the warning, and what for?

You do, for not showing up in Sulphur!
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1