![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
What am I missing, Glen? |
|
|||
This is OBS.... play was made by fielder, who muffed it beyond what is allowed (step and a reach) and was in the way of the runner (who then obtained next base.. thereby releasing the OBS) unless you judged the runner to have chased down and caused the collision... but i digress. My question is ... does she need a M.D. note to be allowed to play in the next game? (I would lean towards ...yes)
just my 2 pennies.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Wed Mar 04, 2009 at 08:29am. |
|
|||
I will agree with calling obs. Since runners reached the next base safely it is just putting up the arm, saying obstruction, then dropping the arm. If you want to pick the nit, it is obstruction, not 'nothing'.
But it really isn't a call, it's just a statement, to let everyone you know it happened. |
|
|||
Quote:
SS did step towards the ball putting her into runners line. Just when you think you got everything covered, you find that you don't. [meaning the way the play was presented to you guys]
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
I've got obstruction on the SS.
SS does not have the ball, she is no longer making an initial play, and she has impeded the runner. Sounds like textbook obstruction to me. At the conclusion of the play, there is most likely nothing to do, since all runners are standing on the bases they would have obtained without the obstruction.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
Hence, from my point of view, it cannot be OBS. There is nothing in the scenario to me that makes me think she was stepping after a deflected ball or a step and reach situation. Just she was still bent over after being in the act of fielding a ball.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS Last edited by wadeintothem; Wed Mar 04, 2009 at 11:27am. |
|
|||
The thing that bugs me about this play is, what was the runner going to do if the attempt to field had been successful (or still within step & reach)? IOW, this runner coud see the F6 dead ahead attempting to field a batted ball yet apparently made no attempt to avoid?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
Hang on a minute, F6 had the opportunity to cleanly field the batted ball and muffed it. The ball is beyond a step & a reach, so F6 must go "poof". I've got obstruction here, too.
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
That being the case, I would agree with the OBS unless you, as the umpire, believed the runner acted in a manner to create the OBS.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
was a force play, became a tag play ? | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 8 | Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am |
Play-by-Play Commentary | FC IC | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am |
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |