The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 18, 2007, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
was a force play, became a tag play ?

hi,
strange situation today.
R1,R2, 0 outs.
double steal and the batter hit a hig hflyball into leftfield.
R2, already behind 3rdbase thinks that the ball will be caught and runs back toward 2ndbase (to tag up) but the ball drops and the throw beats R2 to 3rdbase.

the offensive coach argues that R2 had already touched 3rdbase and he needs to be tagged out instead of just touching 3rdbase.

defensive coach says that he still has to run to 3rdbase and so its still a force play, despite the fact that R2 touched 3rdbase before.

whats the correct ruling ?
force play at 3rdbase oder is a tag at R2 necessary ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 18, 2007, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
If he's being "forced" to 3B, it's still a force. He abandoned the base to return, and the force out is still applicable.

Try this on.... same sitch. When ball drops, can R2 just run straight to home plate since he already touched 3B? He'd still be touching the bases in order...

Of course he can't. Once the base is abandoned to return, the first touch never happened.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 18, 2007, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
maybe a bad description.

R2 touched 3rdbase and was on his way to home. then he thought the the ball might get caught and touched 3rd on his way back to 2nd (this was all correct by R2).

is there any rule who describes this ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 18, 2007, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Bruno_
maybe a bad description.

R2 touched 3rdbase and was on his way to home. then he thought the the ball might get caught and touched 3rd on his way back to 2nd (this was all correct by R2).

is there any rule who describes this ?
7.08(e) is the OBR reference
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 18, 2007, 07:16pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Bruno_
R2 touched 3rdbase and was on his way to home. then he thought the the ball might get caught and touched 3rd on his way back to 2nd (this was all correct by R2).

is there any rule who describes this ?
Force is reinstated when he touches 3B on his way back to 2B.

He shouldn't be thinking, his 3B coach should be doing his job.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 19, 2007, 12:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 226
yep force back in affect once he goes back inside that bag
__________________
It's sad when you're at a baseball game and realize that you'll never have the money, status or talent that the guys on the field take for granted. And it gets even worse when the grounds crew gives way to the players.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 19, 2007, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
7.08(e) is the correct reference. Here's the applicable sentence.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rulebook
However, if the forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats for any reason towards the base he had last occupied, the force play is reinstated, and he can again be put out if the defense tags the base to which he is forced.
Note that the force is reinstated when R2 heads back to 2B, whether or not he touches 3B on his way back to 2B.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 19, 2007, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Note that the force is reinstated when R2 heads back to 2B, whether or not he touches 3B on his way back to 2B.

Well, that's a whole different problem......
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 19, 2007, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChucktownBlue
Well, that's a whole different problem......
But not one that makes a difference for this play: assuming BR and R1 reach their advance bases on the outfielder's error, there would be no way to appeal the missed base without recording a force out on R2.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force Play? rsteele Baseball 20 Tue Jan 11, 2005 08:04am
Force Out Play jggilliam Softball 9 Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:01am
Force Play? Lapopez Baseball 78 Mon Jul 26, 2004 11:15am
Force Play brandda Baseball 1 Sun May 19, 2002 01:17am
Third out without a force play collinb Softball 5 Thu May 03, 2001 03:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1