![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Speaking NFHS, what do you do with the case play I cited above? The case play states that once she steps onto the plate with the hands together, it is an IP.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
When calling NFHS, I follow the approved ruling. Speaking academically, I believe the approved casebook ruling contradicts the written rule, for the reasons I have given.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
I actually made very nearly the same argument about disengaging a couple of years ago on the NFHS forum. I was made to realize that this was not the NFHS interpretation. They want the IP in this kind of situation to be enforced before the pitch can start.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In both rule sets, the written rules allow the pitcher to disengage prior to starting a pitch. While there is (unfortunately) a casebook ruling in NFHS, there is not in ASA. As a rule of thumb, there are numerous contradictory opinions on the NUS; only KR can issue a written interpretation.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Curious Steve- I'm getting confused. What was not the intent of the rule revision? To what are you referring? |
|
|||
|
If I remember correctly, the change in ASA was a result of a direct challenge (not in a game) by a coach who pointed out that there was no requirement in the book which supported the routine umpire's ruling that a pitcher step onto the pitcher's plate with the hands separated.
|
|
|||
|
Yes, but since ASA has now placed the direct requirement of having the hands separated into the rule, I assume the IP (DDB) signal goes out at that moment, right? Do you nullify the call if she disengages (I assume so, but it would then lead to a discussion with the OC, I'd expect...).
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
The question is: is it already too late due to the clarification of Rule 6-1-A? There are ASA clinicians who apparently are saying, yes, it is too late, which makes the ASA rule and interpretation the same as the NFHS rule and interpretation.
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Fri Feb 13, 2009 at 10:26am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The rule change does NOT say it is illegal if she does any of this with hands together, as the one clinician has stated. Nothing there contradicts the ability of the pitcher to remedy the "will be illegal" by stepping off and restarting correctly. I have great respect, and a lot of (positive) history with that individual, I just don't see the rule stating what he is saying. By Full Count's statements, KR did not make that statement. Maybe no one asked him, maybe he would issue an agreeing ruling. But he has not (that I am aware of), and that doesn't supercede what is in the book. He can; he hasn't. Rwest, re-read what I already stated. It is my opinion that the NFHS case play ruling contradicts the written rule, but it is a written ruling. Tht makes it official; even if it stated that batters are awarded first base on an uncaught foul ball with a 2-1 count. An academic discussion can still ensue; but if that is the approved ruling, it is our job to enforce it (until someone in appropriate authority realizes it is wrong, or the written rule is changes to match).
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Fri Feb 13, 2009 at 02:01am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota Yes, but since ASA has now placed the direct requirement of having the hands separated into the rule, I assume the IP (DDB) signal goes out at that moment, right? Do you nullify the call if she disengages (I assume so, but it would then lead to a discussion with the OC, I'd expect...). Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the pitcher steps onto the plate with the hands together, this is an illegal pitch that cannot be remedied. The DDB signal is given, and the pitch is allowed to complete (assuming the pitcher completes it), and the penalty is assessed as normal after the pitch. If the pitcher stops the pitch or attempts to step back off the plate, a dead ball is declared and the IP penalty assessed. Right?
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|