![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Can someone show me a rule or official written interpretation (other than XXY said so) that says this rule regarding pitch preliminaries does NOT apply when the pitcher steps on the pitcher's plate with hands together? Honestly, without that (a contradictory rule, or a written interpretation), I can't see how stepping on with hands together cannot be remedied by stepping off. If it can still be remedied, then it isn't YET illegal. That means it isn't illegal until either 1) the hands separate, or 2) some part of the windup motion begins. If that (last sentence) remains true, then it is both possible and appropriate that a DDB be called, since the pitch has begun, and the scenario posed would remain in effect.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
________ condo rentals Pattaya Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the runner leaves early, this wasn't caused by the illegal pitch; the runner is not permitted to leave until release, and the only illegal pitch that would cause the runner to violate would be a pitcher faking a pitch and holding on to the ball. The rulesmakers of ASA, NFHS (MS) and NCAA (DA) actually conferenced on this possible play, and recognized that if runners could leave early on an illegal pitch without penalty, that runners would be released and possibly halfway or more to the next base, disrupting the defense with an unfair advantage gained, and conceivably creating favorable "options" that far exceed the scope or intent of the illegal pitch penalty. Same ruling applies in all 3 associations. While you penalize the illegal pitch, you also penalize the "leaving early". Since part of the leaving early results in a "no pitch", there is no offensive option. The runner that left early is out, a ball on the batter, and any [B]other[B] runners advance 1 base. In any event, a smart coach will teach his pitcher to stop pitching (when she isn't too far into her motion) if she hears the words "illegal pitch" from an umpire. Continuing only gives the offense better options or better results than the IP penalty. And, no umpire looks at baserunners leaving when the pitcher stops and doesn't pitch.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
t
Quote:
By the way, the "with both feet" intends to decribe that the pitcher must completely disengage if both feet were in contact. Otherwise, the one foot stepping back could be construed as starting the legal pitching motion in NFHS. The next rule, 6-1-f-3 says that either foot may step back first (unlike small ball, which I believe requires the pivot foot to disengage first).
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Wed Feb 11, 2009 at 05:05pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
NFHS 6-1-1-a Prior to pitching, the pitcher MUST........., and with the hands separated. so if she doesn't meet this, its a illegal pitch... even if she brings the hands together and then legally disengages the plate? yes? or am i totally not understanding what your asking? I kinda feel like the guy who brought a knife to a gun fight when talking rules with y'all.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Let me ask it this way. Many pitchers like to keep the pitching plate clean, and between pitches, use their foot to sweep it clean. I think it is safe to say that we differentiate that contact from the preliminary to pitch by the fact that she then steps back off, prior to formally stepping on to start the required sequence. You would not invoke any preliminary pitching requirements, that she didn't have shoulders facing properly, that she didn't come to a full stop, that she didn't then immediately pitch. Why not? Because she legally stepped off; if she stayed there and then started a pitch, you would call it illegal. Suppose she had her hands together while using her foot to clear the plate? Is that different? Would you call that action an illegal pitch? I speculate (and surely hope) not; you would allow her to step off, disengage, restart under the sequence, legally engage. Prior to pitching isn't an action that can be designated as concluded until the pitch begins; then the action to that point was prior to the pitch. It (prior) starts with engaging the plate, it (prior) ends when the pitch starts. Pitchers may legally disengage and restart by stepping off; that option is available when the hands are brought together (last in the required sequence) as long as the pitch hasn't started, no matter what else might happen wrong preliminary to the pitch, so far as I can tell. How/why is that option not available when the hands are together while stepping on?
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
All I can retort with is that I know an illegal pitch when i see one and i know when she is cleaning off the plate when i see it. And if she steps on the rubber with her hands together i'm making this call regardless if she finishes the pitch or if she disengages. Because at the end of ART1 the penalty for failure to do anything exactly how its spelled out in 6-1-1-a thru f is to call an illegal pitch and I will deal with the coach in a professional manner when questioned. ie: pitcher has one foot on the rubber, hands together, she then proceeds to fill in a little divot in front of the rubber. she is satisfied with her landscaping duties and then places landscaping foot behind rubber and does not disengage with other foot, she then moves on to simulate taking of signal or actually takes a signal (im in illegal pitch mode) she then thinks ok i need a moment and disengages. thats an illegal pitch. I am taking liberties with assuming what she is thinking, but i am judging her by her actions. gotta go Duke is winning.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Wed Feb 11, 2009 at 09:51pm. |
|
|||
|
How 'bout them Heels baby!!!
Yeah, but you don't get a W for leading at halftime. How 'bout them Heels baby!!!
However, it was an excellent, well played game by both teams.Sorry for the off-topic post |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|