The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGKBLUE View Post
This is correct. The interpreation can be found in the March 2008 ASA Rule Clarification and Plays:

Illegal Pitch / Runner leaving Early

The question has been asked what to do when an illegal pitch is called in fast pitch and also a runner leaves before the release of the pitch. If an Illegal pitch is called and then a runner leaves before the pitch is released then the base umpire should also call dead ball. Since dead ball is called and no pitch happens the umpire should enforce the Illegal pitch, a ball on the batter and the runner leaving the base too soon will be called out. If there is more than one runner on base then the runner leaving the base too soon is out and all other runners are advanced one base because of the illegal pitch.

PLAY: R1 on 1B and no count on B2. F1 commits an illegal pitch, by bringing the hands together a second time, which is called by the plate umpire, but continues the pitch. Just before releasing the ball R1 leaves the base before the release of the pitch. In (a) B1 does not swing at the pitch. In (b) B1 swings at the pitch and gets a base hit. In (c) R1 is on 1B and R2 is on 3B at the start of the play.

RULING: The illegal pitch happened when the pitcher brought their hands together, paused, the hands separated to begin the pitch, then the hands came back together prior to the release of the pitch. In (a) and (b) the ball became dead when R1 left 1B before the pitch was released. The fact that the batter did not swing in (a) or got a hit in (b) is irrelevant because the ball became dead when R1 left 1B early. Enforce both the leaving early and illegal pitch infractions, The Ball is dead and R1 is out and a ball is awarded to B2. In (c) The plate umpire should call illegal pitch when it occurs and then “dead ball” when R1 leaves 1B too soon. R1 is out, R2 is awarded home and B2 is awarded a ball in the count.

Rule 8, Section 7-S, Effect, Rule 6, Section 3-B, Effect-A Illegal Pitch
In this particular play, isn't it possible that R1 was timing her release from the bag with the separation of the pitcher's hands, and therefore was guilty of "leaving early" because of the illegal pitch? Should R1 be penalized for this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by pollywolly60 View Post
In this particular play, isn't it possible that R1 was timing her release from the bag with the separation of the pitcher's hands, and therefore was guilty of "leaving early" because of the illegal pitch? Should R1 be penalized for this?
Yes, hands separating is not the criteria, release of the ball is.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
So at the local HS meeting last night... Did you guys/gals cover this in OKC ? Cause thats where this seems to be coming from.

Any feedback on this would be helpful....

You are dealing with two different rule sets in your own question. HS leads me to believe this is NFHS rules. Your OKC reference leads me to believe you are now speaking ASA.

As pointed out in the above answers, there is a huge difference between ASA and NFHS on this scenario. Be careful not to mix them up.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 View Post
You are dealing with two different rule sets in your own question. HS leads me to believe this is NFHS rules. Your OKC reference leads me to believe you are now speaking ASA.

As pointed out in the above answers, there is a huge difference between ASA and NFHS on this scenario. Be careful not to mix them up.
Good point... I was commenting on NFHS interpretations as I understand them. I missed the reference to OKC.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 View Post
You are dealing with two different rule sets in your own question. HS leads me to believe this is NFHS rules. Your OKC reference leads me to believe you are now speaking ASA.

As pointed out in the above answers, there is a huge difference between ASA and NFHS on this scenario. Be careful not to mix them up.
We are a NFHS Association that is heavily influenced by ASA. All of our top dogs are ASA company men. ..The trainer said this weekend in OKC they came up with this ruling. They said this applies to NFHS.
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
We are a NFHS Association that is heavily influenced by ASA. All of our top dogs are ASA company men. ..The trainer said this weekend in OKC they came up with this ruling. They said this applies to NFHS.
That does not seem a legit source for NFHS rules.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 10, 2009, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
So at the local HS meeting last night and the following ruling came up.

R1 on 3B, R2 on 1B. F1 steps on the pitchers plate with the hands together, so we have an illegal pitch.

Before F1 releases the ball,during the illegal pitch, R2 leaves the base early so we now have a dead ball.

The ruling we got was R1 is awarded home and R2 is an out for leaving early...

Have this already been discussed here and I can't find it ?

Did you guys/gals cover this in OKC ? Cause thats where this seems to be coming from.

Any feedback on this would be helpful....
Yes, we have discussed it before and it was part of the discussion in OKC last week.

In ASA, you enforce both with the leaving early first creating a dead ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1