View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2008, 03:33pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
One out, runner on 1B. B hits a long fly ball to LF. R1 is between 2B & 3B when the ball is caught. R1 returns to 1B, but misses 2B along the way. The ball is overthrown at 1B allowing R1 to now advance to 2B. The defense appeals that R1 should be out for missing 2B on the way back to 1B even though R1 is now standing on 2B. The umpire rules R1 out on appeal.
Correct. 2008 ASA 8.3.A

When a runner must return to a base while the ball is live or dead, the bases must be touched in reverse order.
EFFECT: The runner is out, if properly appealed.
EXCEPTION: On a foul ball.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote