![]() |
|
|
|||
In NFHS it counts
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
That's the case play i was referring to
Quote:
Dakota, that's the one I was thinking of. I didn't make it clear, but I meant an NFHS case play.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't care, just curious as to the wording. |
|
|||
Quote:
I've yet to find where it says in black and white that a walk is an award. It is however heavily implied by the case play and rule book.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Except for the implications above, the NFHS rule book does not directly say the OTHER runners forced to advance are awarded their bases. Heck, the NFHS book does not even call the base on balls itself an awarded base (again, except by inference as noted above). The NFHS Rule 8-1-1-c for fast pitch (fourth ball called by the umpire) only says the batter becomes a BR. It does not use the word "award" for fast pitch (it does for the intentional BOB for slow pitch).
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
We're not "awarding" R1, R2, or R3 anything... the only one we're "awarding" is the BR 1B. The others are forced to vacate, and are protected to the next base by rule.
I have a hard time in either rule set (even though NFHS specifically shows it via the case play) that the runners are "awarded" the next base. i.e.: If we had a runner on 2B only, we don't "award" them the next base ... they're entitled to go there without liability "if forced."
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() That's why I was curious of the wording. For as much as I know, ASA may want the same ruling. My supposition is based upon the rules available. |
|
|||
"without liability to be put out" does not mean "without liability to be declared out"
NCAA uses similar language, so I would presume it also does not consider the entitlement to advance to be an award. I think that runners are indeed "awarded" bases to which they are forced when the batter is awarded a base on balls. Example in FP: R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B, 1 out. R2 runs on the 3-2 pitch, but R1 misses the sign and does not run. Ball 4 to batter. R2 rounds 2B and passes R1. R2 is declared out. R1, however, still goes to 3B even though she is no longer forced and the ball is live. Thus, this is an award. Example in FP: Bases loaded, 1 out. Ball 4 to batter. Batter runs directly into the dugout and is declared out. The other 3 runners are no longer forced, but they still advance to the bases they were awarded. I had an illustrative play a few years ago: R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, 1 out. B3 hits a liner down the LF line, not too deep. R1 takes a few steps toward home, and R2 tags at 2B. F7 makes a nice catch and quickly fires the ball to F5 in an attempt to get the returning R1. As R1 returns to 3B, he covers his head with his arms to defend himself from the hard throw. The throw gets away and goes into the dugout. I (BU) award both runners home. R2, seeing the ball go into DBT and unaware that R1 is still on 3B asking what happened, passes R1. Both R1 and R2 were permitted to advance to home without liability to be put out. However, R2 was declared out for the third out, so R1 cannot score, even though he had been awarded home.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Thu Aug 28, 2008 at 04:24pm. |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
NCAA:
Score the run. 6.1.2 2) With two outs, score any run in which the runner is awarded home during a live ball but a trailing runner is tagged out before touching home plate. A.R. 6.1.2: Bases loaded, two outs, batter earns a base on balls. Runner from third dawdles on her way home while the runner from second aggressively advances to third, rounds the base and is tagged out. The out at third happens before the runner from third touches home. RULING: Score the run on the live-ball award. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The definition of a walk in NFHS 2-63-1 says the batter is awarded first. The baserunning rule 8-4-3(a) says that runners forced to advance as a result of the batter walking are "entitled to advance without liability to be put out". That stops short of making the advance bases awards; and since the ball is alive, I would argue that advances, even if entitled without jeopardy, are then timing plays. But, MS says otherwise, and until or unless she changes the ruling or the wording of rule, they will continue to contradict. NCAA uses similar language, so I would presume it also does not consider the entitlement to advance to be an award.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Score the run | soundedlikeastrike | Baseball | 73 | Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:51pm |
Score Out? | soclueless | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:59pm |
How do you score it? | bigdave622 | Softball | 8 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:59am |
How do you score this? | BigUmpJohn | Softball | 4 | Sun Jun 15, 2003 03:44pm |
Does the run score? | 18597 | Softball | 4 | Sat Sep 07, 2002 09:03am |