Foul Tip Situation
Anyone ever have this situation happen to them? 2-2 count on the batter. I'm behind the plate. Pitch is fouled of and is judged by me to be straight back and caught by the catcher, who came right up with her glove to show me a clean catch. I rule it a foul tip and call the batter out. 3rd base coach complains and asks me to ask my partner for help. My first thought was that I already had help from my partner because he never killed it. I look at my partner as the coach is still complaining, moving towards me from the coaches box. My partner is looking at me with his fist out. After I settle the coach down and get him back in the box, I decide to stay with my call. after the inning is over, I ask my partner if he saw a foul ball and he said he did see the ball hit the ground. Kinda felt I was thrown under the bus on this play. To make a long story short, would you have went to your partner after this chain of events, or would you stick with your call like I did?
|