The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
Clarification on Obstruction

I have made many calls of obstruction this year, but never have had to award bases as a result of any obstruction. My question is in reference to what the determining point for the obstruction is: the point that the base runner has been hindered, or the point where the obstruction lies.

For example, a batter gets a hit to the outfield, and before they can reach first base, they realize F3 is standing inches off the second base side of first base. They slow down and alter their base path prior to reaching first base. Are they now protected between home and first, or are they protected between first and second?

This has been what I have seen the majority of the time, and at all three bases. If I had been forced to rule on this, I would have given the benefit of the doubt to the offense, and protected the runner between the two furthest bases, but I would like to hear what y'all think.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob
I have made many calls of obstruction this year, but never have had to award bases as a result of any obstruction. My question is in reference to what the determining point for the obstruction is: the point that the base runner has been hindered, or the point where the obstruction lies.

For example, a batter gets a hit to the outfield, and before they can reach first base, they realize F3 is standing inches off the second base side of first base. They slow down and alter their base path prior to reaching first base. Are they now protected between home and first, or are they protected between first and second?

This has been what I have seen the majority of the time, and at all three bases. If I had been forced to rule on this, I would have given the benefit of the doubt to the offense, and protected the runner between the two furthest bases, but I would like to hear what y'all think.
Don't know that I have OBS in your situation until R1 has rounded 1B (how can BR be OBS before she even gets to the base when F3 is standing past the base?).

Anyway BR is protected between 1B and whatever base you think she would have made had there not been OBS. Strictly your judgement.

Now if you stick with the OBS before she got to 1B, then she is protected between HP and whatever base you think she would have made had there not been OBS.

Just my opinion
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Well I can see how OBS occurred, if she is planning on taking the corner and alters her path due to F3's position that is OBS. And it can very well happen prior to reaching first base. My judgement would tell me that she is protected at both! As you said give the benefit of the doubt to the offense. If she studder steps prior to first I am betting that she also was not in stride after first either, still OBS, so you would have OBS before first and after first. I think you could sell that to the defensive coach....leave off the part about prior to first in the discussion, just "coach in my judgement your F3 obstructed the runner at first so she is protected between 1st and 2nd so I am awarding her....." Can't argue judgement!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Guys, I think you're reading too much into OBS than necessary. In its simplest form, OBS occurs when a fielder, who has no right to be where they are or doing what they're doing (in the case of a fake tag), impedes a runner's progress. That's it, nothing more.

The award is simple: award the runner the base they would have reached had there been no OBS. It does not matter if the OBS occurred before 1B or after 3B. It can occur at the plate. It can occur at 2B. It can even occur in the outfield.

There are, of course, certain stipulations that each rule org makes on top of the basic OBS call, and that's what we need to pay attention to (such as if there is OBS during a rundown, then they make a play on another runner, the protection is removed in ASA). However, I'd say about 85% of the OBS calls out there are your basic, garden variety OBS calls.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
Dave,

I don't think I'm trying to read too much in to the rule. What if I have judged that the runner would only have reached first base, yet they make an attempt for second and get thrown out? If the OBS occurred before 1B, then the runner is out, but if the OBS occurred after 1B, then I would announce a dead ball and put the runner back on 1B. Big difference, wouldn't you agree?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
I still think you're reading a little too much into it.

OBS at the base itself is kind of a grey area. In this sitch, you can make your award of 1B or 2B. If the runner is put out at 2B, return them to 1B, or award them 2B. Pretty simple.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 20, 2008, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob
For example, a batter gets a hit to the outfield, and before they can reach first base, they realize F3 is standing inches off the second base side of first base. They slow down and alter their base path prior to reaching first base. Are they now protected between home and first, or are they protected between first and second?
Cecil, I understand what you are saying; I also understand what Mike is saying.

If F3 is standing on 1st base, or, as stated, "inches off the second base side", I don't just rule based on the "slow down and alter prior to reaching first base." As I see this, the runner was hindered starting then ("prior to"), and continued to be hindered as she turned, and until she was again running in the path she chose, and at the speed she would have had absent the obstruction (and that includes SOME place after the base). So, even though I don't believe that BR is awarded 2nd unless I judge she would have made it, I do believe she needs to be protected if she makes that attempt.

I hope that is what Mike is trying to say; regardless, it is how I rule on any obstruction at or on a base, the one the NCAA calls "rounding" obstruction.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 20, 2008, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Cecil, I understand what you are saying; I also understand what Mike is saying.

If F3 is standing on 1st base, or, as stated, "inches off the second base side", I don't just rule based on the "slow down and alter prior to reaching first base." As I see this, the runner was hindered starting then ("prior to"), and continued to be hindered as she turned, and until she was again running in the path she chose, and at the speed she would have had absent the obstruction (and that includes SOME place after the base). So, even though I don't believe that BR is awarded 2nd unless I judge she would have made it, I do believe she needs to be protected if she makes that attempt.

I hope that is what Mike is trying to say; regardless, it is how I rule on any obstruction at or on a base, the one the NCAA calls "rounding" obstruction.
Same idea, different words. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 20, 2008, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Cecil, I understand what you are saying; I also understand what Mike is saying.
Me too, and I also agree that the OBS would continue/reoccur after 1st.

It's just that if you don't say OBS affected the BR before 1st, there would be a possibility of a play making an apparent out at 1st. I guess not in the OP the way Bob presented it, but some balls to the outfield are played to 1st; not always expected by the BR.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need clarification on obstruction call canadaump6 Baseball 17 Mon Jun 09, 2008 07:58am
ASA obstruction clarification needed Dukat Softball 21 Fri May 25, 2007 01:10pm
Obstruction Clarification njdevs00cup Baseball 9 Fri May 18, 2007 08:20pm
Obstruction Rule Clarification/explanation, PLEASE!! 4Beemer Softball 12 Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:53pm
Obstruction clarification SamNVa Softball 5 Thu Aug 30, 2001 09:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1