The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Apr 10, 2006, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member

Question Obstruction Rule Clarification/explanation, PLEASE!!

Okay, I am a first year coach of high school fast pitch softball in MI, and a head coach at that. This is a whole new crazy perspective for me, but the game is definitely not new to me. To make a long story short, I had my first game today (which we won, yay) but there were two obstruction calls that could have really cost us the game. I know that the rule changed from last year, but I wasn't a coach last year. My third baseman kind of got in the base path during a rundown, but clearly didn’t touch the runner, then my catcher makes a ESPN highlight play at the play, then the umps call obstruction. I personally didn’t hear an appeal, but being a first time coach I am timid about making appeals myself. I am wondering if umpired will call the obstruction without a verbal appeal being made, or if a coach or player has to appeal? There was another situation with my shortstop covering second on a wild throw (going for the ball). I guess it is hard to explain, but basically I really would like some help with this whole obstruction rule. I know it is not new, but it has been changing. I totally understand not being able to block a bag/plate before you have the ball (to me "blocking" is like an outfielder taking a knee, but in the IN in front of a bag b4 u have the ball in your possession (from first hand experience, (a huge black-eye w/ seam marks on my face and weak eye, and no obstruction call was ever made!!??) but not letting a player, especially a SS strattle a bag, or even stand near the bag before she has the ball... It just seems like the girls are getting the game taken away from them, while the boys continue as is...