The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Perhaps insulting the forum without asking for what you really wanted wasn't your best move, either. If you want something in particular, ask. Don't ask for opinions when you want specific rule citations.

I'm done with this guy. He's a troll with an inferiority complex. Hope I never call with him.

?? we are umps all we have are rules. I did ask for a interpretation, not opinions.
You know I will not lower myself. I will leave it at that.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Changing your OP radically after numerous replies tells me you didn't know what you were talking about and are trying to revise history.

It was not a protest; it was a live ball appeal. Can you tell me why?

What a jerk.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Changing your OP radically after numerous replies tells me you didn't know what you were talking about and are trying to revise history.

It was not a protest; it was a live ball appeal. Can you tell me why?

What a jerk.
I changed my interpretation, never a "OP", when ASA told me I was wrong. Like I said from the beginning I like this interpitation, safer.


Let me set it up again:
1. under 2 outs
2. runner on first
3. foul pop up caught by first baseman in foul territory
4. First baseman beat runner back to the base, but used colored section to do it.
5. Runner was called out.

To be an appeal there needs to be a violation, by way I will site ASA definitions for "appeals & protest". There is no violation. There is the rule interpretation of the first baseman being allowed to use the colored section. Since it is a interpretation of the rules it is a protest. It is really that simple, how are so many of you guys getting this wrong?

6. The coach believed me and my interpretation, which at the time was; since the play originated from foul territory the first baseman can use the colored section. When it should had been since it is a tag play both the runner and defense can use both sections of first. So he did not protest.

Last edited by snorman75; Tue May 20, 2008 at 11:36pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum TCGRACA General / Off-Topic 3 Mon Mar 05, 2007 10:55am
forum florian Football 6 Mon Dec 20, 2004 05:54pm
What can you get out of this forum? PS2Man Basketball 6 Mon Jan 12, 2004 11:17am
The Forum BktBallRef Basketball 10 Thu Dec 18, 2003 09:40am
New to Forum MN 3 Sport Ref Basketball 12 Sat Dec 28, 2002 03:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1