The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 08, 2008, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones
Was obstruction called? by that, I mean did you have a delayed dead ball followed by a dead ball, to give the obstructed runner the opportunity to touch the base she missed due to the obstruction. Failing that, you have now given full and unfair advantage to the defense -- in my opinion.
Take the OP situation. When would you call the ball dead?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 02:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Take the OP situation. When would you call the ball dead?
Which is why I posed the question...
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
This issue intrigues me as it raises the question: "Are you going to call the book literally? Or by the spirit of the law?"

R1 coming home, F2 blocks the plate, R1 slides wide, PU's arm out and says "obstruction," R1 misses plate, F2 receives ball.

Sit 1: F2 dives and tags R1; PU calls dead ball, awards R1 home on obstruction.

Sit 2: F2 looks at PU and says, "she missed the plate," then tags R1. PU honors the appeal (which is an exception to the obstruction rules), and calls R1 out.

Can anyone find a rule that supports allowing a runner free access to return to touch a base missed due to obstruction, before honoring a missed base appeal?


WMB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
What if the PU calls OBS after the play is dead (either on his own, or after conferring with FU, for example) and after the BR entered team area? Do you then let the BR come out and complete her awarded baserunning, since it was the PU's failure to call OBS during live ball play that put the BR in jeopardy from completing her baserunning?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluefoot
...since it was the PU's failure to call OBS during live ball play that put the BR in jeopardy from completing her baserunning?
No, actually, it didn't. What prevented the BR from returning to retouch was her entering the dugout. Whether or not OBS was called, she is still obligated to touch home plate, and is in jeopardy of being out on appeal if she does not.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluefoot
What if the PU calls OBS after the play is dead (either on his own, or after conferring with FU, for example) and after the BR entered team area? Do you then let the BR come out and complete her awarded baserunning, since it was the PU's failure to call OBS during live ball play that put the BR in jeopardy from completing her baserunning?
Okay, I'm not 100% certain of the mechanic here, so someone correct me if I'm wrong. In this case, I would expect the BU to call for a dead ball. At that point, the mess should be easily cleared up. The key word being: should.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlevoix, MI
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
R1 coming home, F2 blocks the plate, R1 slides wide, PU's arm out and says "obstruction," R1 misses plate, F2 receives ball.

Sit 1: F2 dives and tags R1; PU calls dead ball, awards R1 home on obstruction.

Sit 2: F2 looks at PU and says, "she missed the plate," then tags R1. PU honors the appeal (which is an exception to the obstruction rules), and calls R1 out.

WMB
In situation 2, if she missed the plate due to the obstruction, I would award home. Situation 1 is easy.

In the situation in the OP I would keep the obstruction/DDB signal on until she stopped trying to touch home. Then I would have a missed base and possible appeal. I think that this goes with the intent of the rules.

If the runner was tagged before touching the plate, while still attempting to touch the plate, after the the DDB sigal, then I kill the play and award bases.

Comments?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
Can anyone find a rule that supports allowing a runner free access to return to touch a base missed due to obstruction, before honoring a missed base appeal?


WMB
ASA

RS #1,C,1
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by scroobs
ASA

RS #1,C,1
That is talking about a dead ball appeal. WMB's example was a live ball appeal.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
That is talking about a dead ball appeal. WMB's example was a live ball appeal.
If DDB obstruction was called and the runner missed the plate, i would only call her out on appeal if (in my judgement) she had been given an opportunity to complete her base running responsibilities. Am i missing something here?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
That is talking about a dead ball appeal. WMB's example was a live ball appeal.
It is not a live ball appeal if it is on an obstructed runner which has been tagged out.

If the missed base is a direct result of the OBS (which it is in the scenario), I'm not going to reward the defense.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 08:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestMichBlue
This issue intrigues me as it raises the question: "Are you going to call the book literally? Or by the spirit of the law?"

R1 coming home, F2 blocks the plate, R1 slides wide, PU's arm out and says "obstruction," R1 misses plate, F2 receives ball.

Sit 1: F2 dives and tags R1; PU calls dead ball, awards R1 home on obstruction.

Sit 2: F2 looks at PU and says, "she missed the plate," then tags R1. PU honors the appeal (which is an exception to the obstruction rules), and calls R1 out.

Can anyone find a rule that supports allowing a runner free access to return to touch a base missed due to obstruction, before honoring a missed base appeal?


WMB
In sit 2, if R1 is heading toward the dugout, I'd honor the appeal. If R1 is attempting to get back to the plate, this is still part of the effect of the obstruction, and I would not honor the live ball appeal. I don't have sound rules basis for that last one, but it seems right.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 09, 2008, 08:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
If R1 is attempting to get back to the plate, this is still part of the effect of the obstruction, and I would not honor the live ball appeal. I don't have sound rules basis for that last one, but it seems right.

Quote:
WMB: This issue intrigues me as it raises the question: "Are you going to call the book literally? Or by the spirit of the law?"

And your answer is "spirit of the law." That is where I was leaning, but I was looking for someone to support a literal interpretation.

WMB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If the catcher is blocking the plate BBLover Baseball 11 Wed Jun 23, 2004 07:46pm
Standing on the blocks ref18 Basketball 1 Fri Mar 19, 2004 02:30pm
Players standing OOB Mike Burns Basketball 2 Sun Jan 11, 2004 10:49pm
Umpire Standing up nhref58 Baseball 1 Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:00am
Runner goes in standing up Porch Dog Baseball 16 Mon May 06, 2002 12:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1