The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 23, 2008, 10:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Thank you for the correction. I see the distinction.

ASA

Now, could you provide interpretation and guidance on 8-8F (does touch mean same as deflected, ricochet etc) and RS 33-A-b)2nd sentence (is it missing the word intentional?). My understanding from training is no out if runner hit by deflected ball, could not avoid it and another player had opportunity to make a play.

What I am looking for is what are the different possibilities and rulings for a deflected ball?

Bretman had stated that "If a runner is hit by a batted ball randomly deflected by one fielder and another fielder has opportunity to make a play, the runner is called out." That is why I cited "To Interfere with a deflected
batted ball it must be Intentional 8-7J-4". Has ASA put the wrong rule here? 8-8F indicates that if the runner could not avoid the ball, he/she is not out

Thanks, Ron
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped third strike LLPA13UmpDan Baseball 67 Sun Jan 28, 2007 02:42am
dropped 3rd strike acoach Baseball 9 Thu Jul 27, 2006 01:36pm
Dropped Second Strike blueskysblue Softball 36 Wed Apr 12, 2006 06:08pm
Dropped Third Strike umpguy2190 Baseball 12 Tue Apr 20, 2004 07:56pm
Dropped 3rd Strike rwest Softball 36 Tue Apr 06, 2004 09:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1