View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 23, 2008, 10:45pm
ronald ronald is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Thank you for the correction. I see the distinction.

ASA

Now, could you provide interpretation and guidance on 8-8F (does touch mean same as deflected, ricochet etc) and RS 33-A-b)2nd sentence (is it missing the word intentional?). My understanding from training is no out if runner hit by deflected ball, could not avoid it and another player had opportunity to make a play.

What I am looking for is what are the different possibilities and rulings for a deflected ball?

Bretman had stated that "If a runner is hit by a batted ball randomly deflected by one fielder and another fielder has opportunity to make a play, the runner is called out." That is why I cited "To Interfere with a deflected
batted ball it must be Intentional 8-7J-4". Has ASA put the wrong rule here? 8-8F indicates that if the runner could not avoid the ball, he/she is not out

Thanks, Ron
Reply With Quote