The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
As your heading states, this is a live ball appeal. That can only be made by a player touching the missed base or the runner with the ball. Too bad, catcher, being correct doesn't validate the appeal by someone doing neither.

Not a valid appeal, cannot be honored (or even responded to). Not really a conflict; "the defense" doesn't change the requirement that it be handled properly.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Just curious...what happened after the ball became dead. Did catcher appeal again? If so, wouldn't runs score and third out be called, assuming BR never "retouched" 1st base and continued on to 2nd?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Just curious...what happened after the ball became dead. Did catcher appeal again? If so, wouldn't runs score and third out be called, assuming BR never "retouched" 1st base and continued on to 2nd?
A dead ball appeal is not available on this play unless the BR proceeded to a base other than 1st which did not happen. Also, no runs can be scored if the BR is the 3rd out of the inning.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Yep, I agree with Steve and Sean and anyone else who stated the appeal wasn't valid.

I kicked the call on a play which ended up non-existent. As Sean suspected, my mind was so wrapped up on the double base rule, I lost sight of the defender making a live ball appeal being the one with possession of the ball, although F3 made the same appeal to BU, but not until he release a throw toward 3B.

However, like I said, the play did not count, so the missed ruling had no affect on the game.

However, it does raise another question. What happens when a pitcher, catcher or any other infielder screams at F3 to "tag him" and then states aloud toward an umpire, "he missed the base". Obviously, as the umpire you know what is happening, but F3 doesn't have a clue why he is tagging the runner. Do you honor that one even though F3 is not the one verbalizing the appeal?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Yep, I agree with Steve and Sean and anyone else who stated the appeal wasn't valid.

I kicked the call on a play which ended up non-existent. As Sean suspected, my mind was so wrapped up on the double base rule, I lost sight of the defender making a live ball appeal being the one with possession of the ball, although F3 made the same appeal to BU, but not until he release a throw toward 3B.

However, like I said, the play did not count, so the missed ruling had no affect on the game.

However, it does raise another question. What happens when a pitcher, catcher or any other infielder screams at F3 to "tag him" and then states aloud toward an umpire, "he missed the base". Obviously, as the umpire you know what is happening, but F3 doesn't have a clue why he is tagging the runner. Do you honor that one even though F3 is not the one verbalizing the appeal?
Well, I'm no mind-reader, so if I see an act such as the one you mentioned that is, in all probability, an act of an appeal, I might grant it. The lightbulb may have gone off in his head, and without verbalizing it himself, he tagged the runner. It is not an appeal "by accident."

Very grey area, as live ball appeals do not need to be verbalized.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
Very grey area, as live ball appeals do not need to be verbalized.
They do if the umpire doesn't know why they are doing something.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
They do if the umpire doesn't know why they are doing something.
If a catcher yells to F3 "tag him, he missed the base," and F3 does so, I'd say I have a pretty good indication as to why F3's tagging him.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gwinnett County, Georgia
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
However, it does raise another question. What happens when a pitcher, catcher or any other infielder screams at F3 to "tag him" and then states aloud toward an umpire, "he missed the base". Obviously, as the umpire you know what is happening, but F3 doesn't have a clue why he is tagging the runner. Do you honor that one even though F3 is not the one verbalizing the appeal?

I don't have the rulebook near me, so I can't be sure if it says the live ball appeal has to have a verbal along with it or if the act of the tag is considered the actual live ball appeal.

Like I said, I just can't "see" the wording on this one in my mind like some of the other situations.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPRempe
I don't have the rulebook near me, so I can't be sure if it says the live ball appeal has to have a verbal along with it or if the act of the tag is considered the actual live ball appeal.

Like I said, I just can't "see" the wording on this one in my mind like some of the other situations.
In ASA, there is nothing that says that for a live ball appeal to be valid, the fielder with the ball must say something. We grant it all the time - short fly ball to the outfield gets caught, but the runner on 2B left early, thinking it's a hit. Outfielder throws it to shortstop before the runner returns. Out.

In the second situation Mike presented (catcher calling out that BR hit the white bag and not the orange, then F3 tags the runner), I'd say this can be an acceptable live ball appeal. It's clear to everyone WHY F3 is tagging the runner, and ASA allows non-verbal live ball appeals. In this case, it's the "why" that's important.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gwinnett County, Georgia
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
In ASA, there is nothing that says that for a live ball appeal to be valid, the fielder with the ball must say something. We grant it all the time - short fly ball to the outfield gets caught, but the runner on 2B left early, thinking it's a hit. Outfielder throws it to shortstop before the runner returns. Out.

In the second situation Mike presented (catcher calling out that BR hit the white bag and not the orange, then F3 tags the runner), I'd say this can be an acceptable live ball appeal. It's clear to everyone WHY F3 is tagging the runner, and ASA allows non-verbal live ball appeals. In this case, it's the "why" that's important.

Roger that, and I agree, but like I was saying, I usually can visualize words from books like that, but today is just not my day. Stomach flu/virus/plague is just killing my concentration right now...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2007, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
To me, since the ONLY reason F3 could be chasing and tagging a BR who has passed first would be for some sort of an appeal, I think the mere act of initiating a tag in this case is pretty strong evidence that there's an appeal being made.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 09, 2007, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Yep, I agree with Steve and Sean and anyone else who stated the appeal wasn't valid.

I kicked the call on a play which ended up non-existent. As Sean suspected, my mind was so wrapped up on the double base rule, I lost sight of the defender making a live ball appeal being the one with possession of the ball, although F3 made the same appeal to BU, but not until he release a throw toward 3B.
So, in hindsight, how would you recommend this be handled? Would you, as PU, simply ignore the invalid appeal? Would you reply? If so, how?

I am particularly curious because it's happened to me with runners missing home and heading for the dugout. F2 receives the ball and verbally appeals the missed base, but the ball is still live but F2 never tagged the plate nor the runner. Should I be ignoring this invalid appeal? Or say something? (I don't want to acknowledge the appeal because it isn't one, but I also don't want to be coaching the defense here).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live Ball Treated as Dead Ball Foul GPC2 Football 9 Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:04am
OK obs and missed base live ball appeal Dakota Softball 13 Mon Feb 26, 2007 04:29pm
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball rfp Basketball 19 Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am
live ball appeal? umpharp Softball 20 Tue Feb 14, 2006 08:43pm
Live ball appeal oppool Softball 6 Thu Mar 01, 2001 10:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1