The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Live ball appeal

Speaking ASA

Runners on 1B & 2B, two outs.

Batter hits grounder bobbled by F4 who recovers to make a late attempt to retire the BR.

The BR hits the white base prior to the ball arriving. The catcher immediately appeals the BR missing the correct base (to PU) as the late throw arrives with F3 still in contact with the base. BU makes a "safe" call when the ball arrives and F3 continues the play with a wild throw to 3B in an effort to retire R2 and both runners apparently score.

Your call/ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 12:38pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
1. Obvious late call (mentioned twice), so my judgement is no play is being made on the BR. BR can use the white. Appeal not granted. 8.2.M(3)
2. F2 didn't have the ball anyway - live ball appeal not heard. Safe at first, 2 runs score. R/S 1(B).
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
1. Obvious late call (mentioned twice), so my judgement is no play is being made on the BR. BR can use the white. Appeal not granted. 8.2.M(3)
No, this reads slower than it happened. There was an apparent play coming, BR just beat the throw.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Appeal not granted. F3's foot on the bag in this situation is what I would call an "appeal by accident." Unless F3 says, "wrong bag, blue," I've got nothing. Live appeals must be made by the defensive player in possession of the ball.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Though I must say, this brings up an interesting question. F3, in all likelihood, has no clue which bag the BR touched. They're watching the incoming throw, or else someone gets beaned in the head. The only likely persons to see this are either F2 or maybe F10. Should it be changed so that this type of appeal is allowed? Otherwise, who the heck is even going to MAKE the appeal? F2 can only yell to F3 to appeal the call.

Honestly, I've NEVER had this appealed in any of my games, probably due to the reason that I mentioned above.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 02:46pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
No, this reads slower than it happened. There was an apparent play coming, BR just beat the throw.
Then I stick with my second ruling - F2 didn't have the ball, therefore her "live ball" appeal is denied.

I think I see what you're getting at tho... 8.2.M(3)-EFFECT uses the language "provided the defense appeals"... which is somewhat in conflict with R/S 1(B)...
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
As your heading states, this is a live ball appeal. That can only be made by a player touching the missed base or the runner with the ball. Too bad, catcher, being correct doesn't validate the appeal by someone doing neither.

Not a valid appeal, cannot be honored (or even responded to). Not really a conflict; "the defense" doesn't change the requirement that it be handled properly.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2007, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Just curious...what happened after the ball became dead. Did catcher appeal again? If so, wouldn't runs score and third out be called, assuming BR never "retouched" 1st base and continued on to 2nd?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live Ball Treated as Dead Ball Foul GPC2 Football 9 Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:04am
OK obs and missed base live ball appeal Dakota Softball 13 Mon Feb 26, 2007 04:29pm
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball rfp Basketball 19 Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am
live ball appeal? umpharp Softball 20 Tue Feb 14, 2006 08:43pm
Live ball appeal oppool Softball 6 Thu Mar 01, 2001 10:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1