![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Appeal not granted. F3's foot on the bag in this situation is what I would call an "appeal by accident." Unless F3 says, "wrong bag, blue," I've got nothing. Live appeals must be made by the defensive player in possession of the ball.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Though I must say, this brings up an interesting question. F3, in all likelihood, has no clue which bag the BR touched. They're watching the incoming throw, or else someone gets beaned in the head. The only likely persons to see this are either F2 or maybe F10. Should it be changed so that this type of appeal is allowed? Otherwise, who the heck is even going to MAKE the appeal? F2 can only yell to F3 to appeal the call.
Honestly, I've NEVER had this appealed in any of my games, probably due to the reason that I mentioned above.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
I think I see what you're getting at tho... 8.2.M(3)-EFFECT uses the language "provided the defense appeals"... which is somewhat in conflict with R/S 1(B)...
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
As your heading states, this is a live ball appeal. That can only be made by a player touching the missed base or the runner with the ball. Too bad, catcher, being correct doesn't validate the appeal by someone doing neither.
Not a valid appeal, cannot be honored (or even responded to). Not really a conflict; "the defense" doesn't change the requirement that it be handled properly.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Yep, I agree with Steve and Sean and anyone else who stated the appeal wasn't valid.
I kicked the call on a play which ended up non-existent. As Sean suspected, my mind was so wrapped up on the double base rule, I lost sight of the defender making a live ball appeal being the one with possession of the ball, although F3 made the same appeal to BU, but not until he release a throw toward 3B. However, like I said, the play did not count, so the missed ruling had no affect on the game. However, it does raise another question. What happens when a pitcher, catcher or any other infielder screams at F3 to "tag him" and then states aloud toward an umpire, "he missed the base". Obviously, as the umpire you know what is happening, but F3 doesn't have a clue why he is tagging the runner. Do you honor that one even though F3 is not the one verbalizing the appeal? ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Very grey area, as live ball appeals do not need to be verbalized.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't have the rulebook near me, so I can't be sure if it says the live ball appeal has to have a verbal along with it or if the act of the tag is considered the actual live ball appeal. Like I said, I just can't "see" the wording on this one in my mind like some of the other situations. |
|
|||
Quote:
I am particularly curious because it's happened to me with runners missing home and heading for the dugout. F2 receives the ball and verbally appeals the missed base, but the ball is still live but F2 never tagged the plate nor the runner. Should I be ignoring this invalid appeal? Or say something? (I don't want to acknowledge the appeal because it isn't one, but I also don't want to be coaching the defense here). |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Live Ball Treated as Dead Ball Foul | GPC2 | Football | 9 | Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:04am |
OK obs and missed base live ball appeal | Dakota | Softball | 13 | Mon Feb 26, 2007 04:29pm |
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |
live ball appeal? | umpharp | Softball | 20 | Tue Feb 14, 2006 08:43pm |
Live ball appeal | oppool | Softball | 6 | Thu Mar 01, 2001 10:14pm |