The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 09:07am
Official Forum Member

ASA SP with stealing

Well, it's been a couple of years since they added stealing to ASA men's SP. I've only called one ASA state tourney since it was added, and they didn't allow stealing. None of the rec leagues where I call have added it, either, so I have zero experience with the rule.

Since Mike has opened up the channels of communication regarding rule changes, I figure now would be the appropriate time to bring up the subject (though I didn't want any debate to be in Mike's thread, as his was for suggestions for rule changes).

What are everyone's thoughts on stealing in SP? Has it worked well for ASA? Or are there revisions/clarifications in the rules/mechanics that should be made?

The floor is yours.

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 09:22am
Official Forum Member

Over the past 2 weekends I worked the Indiana "D" state and the *Indiana "E" State*. The even with the 0-0 count the prospect of the runner stealing sped up the game simply by demanding that the catcher actually catch the ball and not retrieve it from the back stop. So, from my perspective the rule is a good one and I like it the way it stands.

*Note*: I know there is no "E" and we've been over this before. It's an Indiana thing.
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 09:58am
Official Forum Member