![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Second, your statement is not true at all if the runner is still past 2nd base when the throw toward first base is released. If he is ... he gets home. The direction he's running is irrelevant.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
Basically, jimpiano, a fielder unintentionally carrying a live ball into dead ball territory (such as in the OP you described) is a small "oops." One base from base last touched.
A fielder throwing poorly is a big "oops." Two bases from base last touched when the ball was released. Keep in mind I'm saying this with a little "tongue in cheek." I don't know ASA's rationale behind every rule, and I frankly have too many things going on with work right now to ponder it. So in the end, I call what they give me for a ruleset. ![]()
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. Last edited by NCASAUmp; Tue Jul 24, 2007 at 01:31pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
and your UIC is WRONG..... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
That RS is NOT making a distinction between a touched and passed-but-not-touched base. It is talking about a base to which the runner is not legally entitled. Before misinterpreting an RS, try reading the actual rule about a touched base.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
The decision to award a base or bases, depending upon intent, is based on pretty clear language:....(T)he base award is based on the last base legally touched at the time the ball became dead. The original post deals only with this rule and rule supplement #27 makes it clear that the last base touched means the last legal base touched. |
|
|||
As others have noted, ASA awards bases from the runner's position at the time of the release of the throw or, in the case of the OP, the time the fielder entered DBT, regardless of any obligation to retouch a base left too soon.
NCAA softball is different; it follows OBR. The award in the OP would be 3B, but once the runner returns to retag 1B, the award is changed to 2B. (There is long and complicated justification for this; ASA simplifies things.) Overthrows are treated similarly: if a runner who has left 1B too soon is between 2B and 3B when the fielder releases a throw that goes into DBT, the award is home, but if the runner returns to retouch 1B, the award is changed to 3B. Don't know about Fed. These codes differ on what they consider to be the "last base legally touched," just as they differ on what constitutes the runner "closest to home."
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Thu Jul 26, 2007 at 11:43am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |
Thrown ball into dead ball area | 0balls2strikes | Softball | 7 | Wed Aug 10, 2005 08:10pm |
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations | BJ Moose | Baseball | 20 | Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am |
Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? | cmckenna | Baseball | 2 | Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am |