The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 20, 2007, 11:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Dead Ball Advancement

R1 on first with no outs......Batter hits long high fly to deep right and R1 is off and running...Rightfielder makes incredible catch and falls over the fence.

R1 is past second when umpire declares dead ball.

ASA rules.


Umpire yells " Out! Dead Ball, runners advance one base."


Assuming R1 retouches first, what base is he/she entitled to?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 21, 2007, 01:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
R1 on first with no outs......Batter hits long high fly to deep right and R1 is off and running...Rightfielder makes incredible catch and falls over the fence.

R1 is past second when umpire declares dead ball.

ASA rules.


Umpire yells " Out! Dead Ball, runners advance one base."


Assuming R1 retouches first, what base is he/she entitled to?

3rd......... If the catch was in play....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 21, 2007, 04:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
ASA rules.
Your ASA rules, or REAL ASA rules?
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 21, 2007, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
R1 on first with no outs......Batter hits long high fly to deep right and R1 is off and running...Rightfielder makes incredible catch and falls over the fence.

R1 is past second when umpire declares dead ball.

ASA rules.


Umpire yells " Out! Dead Ball, runners advance one base."


Assuming R1 retouches first, what base is he/she entitled to?
Call: "Dead ball" then "Out" then hesitate to see runner's reaction prior to announcing any award. When you are satisfied the runner has finished the base-running task at hand, announce the one base award. (8.6.J)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2007, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Call: "Dead ball" then "Out" then hesitate to see runner's reaction prior to announcing any award. When you are satisfied the runner has finished the base-running task at hand, announce the one base award. (8.6.J)
The question was "what" base is r1 entitled to?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2007, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
The question was "what" base is r1 entitled to?
Let's see, according to the rule cited it is one base from the time the ball became dead. OP stated the runner had passed 2B.

1 + 2 = 3

Pretty simple, huh?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2007, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Am I missing something here? I'm sleep deprived so maybe I am . . . Wasn't this a caught flyball and the runner was "off and running". Wouldn't 1st base be considered the last base touched since they would have to tag up on the caught fly ball? Or do you award 3rd and they have to go back and re touch or risk being out on appeal?

Did I just answer my own question?
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2007, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
Am I missing something here? I'm sleep deprived so maybe I am . . . Wasn't this a caught flyball and the runner was "off and running". Wouldn't 1st base be considered the last base touched since they would have to tag up on the caught fly ball? Or do you award 3rd and they have to go back and re touch or risk being out on appeal?

Did I just answer my own question?
R1 is past second when umpire declares dead ball

Pretty clear to me the last base touched was 2nd.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2007, 08:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
R1 is past second when umpire declares dead ball

Pretty clear to me the last base touched was 2nd.
OK Mike, I'm disputing that. She has to retouch 1st - right? Then she gets 3rd? For some reason that just seems wrong to me.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 22, 2007, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
OK Mike, I'm disputing that. She has to retouch 1st - right? Then she gets 3rd? For some reason that just seems wrong to me.
Mike is 100% correct.

8-5-J: When a live ball is unintentionally carried by a fielder from live ball territory. Effect: The ball is dead and runners are awarded one base from the last base touched at the time the fielder left live ball territory.

Since R1 had already touched 2B BEFORE the fielder left live ball territory, R1 is awarded 3B. However, they must touch 2B, then touch 1B to "tag up" after the ball was caught. Then, they must retouch 2B and advance to their awarded base, which is 3B. If they fail to touch any of those bases in that order, the defense may appeal a missed base. Yes, it seems like a lot of unncessary running, but hey, those are the rules.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 23, 2007, 06:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
OK Mike, I'm disputing that. She has to retouch 1st - right? Then she gets 3rd? For some reason that just seems wrong to me.
For the purpose of rule application, softball, at least ASA, considers any base passed is a base touched. There is no rule which demands a runner return to touch a base missed or left too soon. However, there is a rule which places that runner in jeopardy and available to be ruled out on appeal should they not do so.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 23, 2007, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
You two should be writing the rule supplements.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 23, 2007, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
You two should be writing the rule supplements.
I hope and pray that you're not referring to me, because I'd probably re-write the whole book!
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 23, 2007, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
I hope and pray that you're not referring to me, because I'd probably re-write the whole book!
Can you start today?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 23, 2007, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Can you start today?
Don't tempt me! Though if I do, I'd make Mike the senior editor. I'm just a 15-year rookie, and I still screw up now and then.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball rfp Basketball 19 Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am
Thrown ball into dead ball area 0balls2strikes Softball 7 Wed Aug 10, 2005 08:10pm
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am
Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? cmckenna Baseball 2 Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1