The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 25, 2007, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Well if I am the coach .
"What is it Blue ,out, do over or what , make a decision "
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2007, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
Well if I am the coach .
"What is it Blue ,out, do over or what , make a decision "
Well I'd have to either have more details or see it to make a decision.. I dont need more details to know you and/or merle are full of crap if you try to tell me the batter in this situation is out by pseudo catch or some such.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2007, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
BLUE WHATS YOUR CALL
We havnt got ten cameras for a replay,, the play is as described thats all you saw
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2007, 07:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
BLUE WHATS YOUR CALL
We havnt got ten cameras for a replay,, the play is as described thats all you saw
Why? Did I pass out before I could see if there was interference?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 27, 2007, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
So you have interference ?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 28, 2007, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
So you have interference ?
I will bite. I have 2 outs. The runner was only a few feet off 1B on a hard hit ball. Seems like it the runner didn't catch the ball, there was a good chance for a double play.
__________________
Player/Coach
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 28, 2007, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Thumbs up

While two Umps have different views on this situation , both may be right .
It is a judgement call as to interefence or not .
If have two outs you will get spewed over by 1 team .
If you have no outs and play on , you will get spewed over by the other team .
If you have dead ball runner out and BR safe both teams will accept ( maybe )
If you have dead ball BR out and place R back on first you are wrong ( no rule sets dictate this ) but probably both teams will accept it .
The point here is if you are confident with your rules and can back that up by a sound explanation and it is a judgement call you are right .
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 29, 2007, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 440
What you have is a dead ball and an out on the R1. BR is awarded 1b and scored as a hit.

Outathm
PONY SB UIC
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 29, 2007, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
So Outham you obviously have INT .
The runner stopped a play by a fielder did they ?
If the runner hadnt caught the ball it would have flew out to centrefield who had no chance to make an out , so where is the INT ?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 30, 2007, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
The following situation doesnt apply at all to an INT call, but it does illustrate how things "happen" on the field which may not necessarily be INT even if it was a runner and a batted deflected ball:

I'm hooked in for a play at 2B, about 6 feet in on 2B. HARD Throw from outfield deflects off of tip of F6's glove and hits me square in on the right cheek of my face. Luckily all my teeth stayed in my head because I got popped good. I wasnt quick enough to defend myself on that play and took the shot in my face.

The point is, a deflected ball coming at a runner may result in a defensive action which may or may not be interference. You still must judge intent on a deflection here. Was there intentional interference or was she just acting in a defensive manner?

In either case, maybe it's INT, maybe not. Because of the way it is worded, I would say I lean heavily towards INT on this play.. it sounds bone headed of the runner to catch a ball that "pops" to her "instinctively" and then drops to the ground.

A deflected batted ball is not the same as a batted ball which hasnt passed infielders.

Would you guys be calling the play differently if it was worded:

----------------------------

1. Runner at first no outs. Hard liner at first baseman runner has taken lead, ball deflects off of glove and smashes the runner in the face.

2. Runner at first no outs. Hard liner at first baseman runner has taken lead, ball deflects off of glove; the runner raises her hand preventing the ball from hitting her, the ball hits her hand and drops to the ground.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 06:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by outathm
What you have is a dead ball and an out on the R1. BR is awarded 1b and scored as a hit.

Outathm
PONY SB UIC
Not that we care, but, when a runner is out on interference, BR is credited with a fielder's choice, not a hit. ASA 11.3-D
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harshblue
So Outham you obviously have INT .
The runner stopped a play by a fielder did they ?
If the runner hadnt caught the ball it would have flew out to centrefield who had no chance to make an out , so where is the INT ?
Let's look at the OP again, shall we?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HandMark7
Runner at first no outs. Hard liner at first baseman runner has taken lead, ball deflects off of glove and hops to runner who instinctively catches is and quickly drops ball to ground. Any help appreciated.
Where in this sitch does it imply that the ball would have flown to centrefield? Not that I'm saying that any other fielder would have had a chance at an out, but nothing in the OP supports your hypothesis about what would have happened had the runner not caught the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2007, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
HARD LINER to me is a very hard hit ball if not touched would go to outfield .
Soft liner would not
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softball/ASA Substitution rules Palmer Softball 9 Tue Nov 29, 2011 04:15am
Federation Softball Rules Question Uncle Sam Softball 2 Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:48am
SOFTBALL - ASA rules spmeg77 Softball 7 Tue Jul 19, 2005 05:02pm
Pony Softball Pitcher Sub Rule Clarification jrp Softball 2 Wed May 18, 2005 12:55pm
Softball Rules Study Rick Vietti Softball 1 Tue Dec 17, 2002 05:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1