The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Pony Rules Softball

Received an email with this situation, what do you all think?

Runner at first no outs. Hard liner at first baseman runner has taken lead, ball deflects off of glove and hops to runner who instinctively catches is and quickly drops ball to ground. Any help appreciated.
__________________
Shock it!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
I got DB, no pitch, B1 out for leaving early.

ASA anyway...
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 12:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bismarck, North Dakota
Posts: 250
How do you know R1 left early?
__________________
Thomas Hamkens
North Dakota ASA Umpire
Verlangsamen Sie Wurf weicher Ball ist ein wirklicher Sport
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 08:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
I don't think R1 left early. Just took normal lead with pitch.
__________________
Shock it!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by HandCheck7
Received an email with this situation, what do you all think?

Runner at first no outs. Hard liner at first baseman runner has taken lead, ball deflects off of glove and hops to runner who instinctively catches is and quickly drops ball to ground. Any help appreciated.
I don't know Pony. But, I need more information on the play. Did R1 have time to avoid the ball? Did F4 have a play on the ball to either tag R1 or retire the BR?

Even with this additional information, though, the catch presents a problem, but was it a "defensive" catch (that is, avoid getting hit) or did she "field" the ball?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by HandCheck7
I don't think R1 left early. Just took normal lead with pitch.
sorry bout that, the way it was written I thought the runner was taking a baseball lead.

I agree with dakota, not enough details to rule..

For all I know, the F3 picked up the ball, swipe tagged the runner then tagged 1B for the double play, in which case, I got me two outs on the play.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
People , the situation is as it stands .
Thats what happened , so , what do you do .
Dead ball .
If another fielder had a chance to make a play then interference , if not return runner to 1st base .
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
People , the situation is as it stands .
Thats what happened , so , what do you do .
Dead ball .
If another fielder had a chance to make a play then interference , if not return runner to 1st base .
1) Oh come on, even your answer has a variable. You cant say "take the scenario as its written" and then answer:
"well its either ____ or its ___".

This scenario lacks and is poorly written.

2) I dont agree a deflected ball that hits a runner is an immediate DB.

You have to delay that call (even if for only a split second) and determine if there is INT.

The primary criteria with INT is that there is Interference.

A deflected ball which hits a runner is not an immediate dead ball. Interference and DB when the runner interferes with a fielder who has a chance to make an out from a deflected ball.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 22, 2007, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
I have another question rereading your answer, under what circumstance would you put the runner back?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 23, 2007, 01:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Lets think That scenario happens on a softball diamond , what do YOU do .
This play was put to me at a ISF seminar last year and Merle Butler stated just that .
I didint ask the reasoning cos at an ISF seminar you dont , you just accept it .
By the way the scenario was runner catches the ball not was hit by the ball .
I actually agrre with your statement BUT this runner actually caught the ball that is intentionally caught the ball .
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 23, 2007, 06:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
Lets think That scenario happens on a softball diamond , what do YOU do .
This play was put to me at a ISF seminar last year and Merle Butler stated just that .
I didint ask the reasoning cos at an ISF seminar you dont , you just accept it .
By the way the scenario was runner catches the ball not was hit by the ball .
I actually agrre with your statement BUT this runner actually caught the ball that is intentionally caught the ball .
OK, so I dont know ISF rules.. to me, we have DB and INT or we dont. If you rule DB INT you get the Runner and maybe the batter. I dont see where you would put the runner back... which I guess means either A) do-over b) batter called out.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Sat Jun 23, 2007 at 06:36am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 23, 2007, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
My thoughts exactly .
But like I said you dont argue with Merle Butler at an ISF seminar .
But in saying that it is logical , but not nessecarily , within the rules that you kill the ball .
Then you put the runner back to the last base legally touched .
Offense happy that there wasnt two outs and defense happy that the runner didnt advance .
I didnt make it clear of course that the BR would be out .
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 25, 2007, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
My thoughts exactly .
But like I said you dont argue with Merle Butler at an ISF seminar .
But in saying that it is logical , but not nessecarily , within the rules that you kill the ball .
Then you put the runner back to the last base legally touched .
Offense happy that there wasnt two outs and defense happy that the runner didnt advance .
I didnt make it clear of course that the BR would be out .
Well, unless ISF is remarkably different in this area, I think you are representing that guy as dead wrong when he is not here to defend himself. Tell him to sign on , if he thinks that garbage, I'll argue with him.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 25, 2007, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 382
Wadeintothem
You still havnt answered the scenario as its written .
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 25, 2007, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by debeau
Wadeintothem
You still havnt answered the scenario as its written .
Sure I did, in post 11. Whether there is FOR SURE INT on this deflected ball or not cant be answered. In a game, i would probably lean towards INT and a nice little out for me.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Mon Jun 25, 2007 at 09:31pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softball/ASA Substitution rules Palmer Softball 9 Tue Nov 29, 2011 04:15am
Federation Softball Rules Question Uncle Sam Softball 2 Tue Apr 17, 2007 11:48am
SOFTBALL - ASA rules spmeg77 Softball 7 Tue Jul 19, 2005 05:02pm
Pony Softball Pitcher Sub Rule Clarification jrp Softball 2 Wed May 18, 2005 12:55pm
Softball Rules Study Rick Vietti Softball 1 Tue Dec 17, 2002 05:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1