The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Introduction... First question?

Hello fellow umpires. My name is Austin and this is my first year as an ASA umpire, well I'm actually not licensed yet but I've finished the test (open book). I'm super excited to start working the tourneys and regulation games which will be Men's SP and Co-ed SP. I'm also a player of the game so umpiring will be another way to enjoy the game which we all love!

Here's my questions right from the ASA 2007 exam itself. I'm not trying to get the answers easy, just merely checking to see if I am right. I want to understand the answers and I havn't had a class yet where the Umpire in-chief can help. He actually mailed me everything and told me to take an open book test then mail it back. Anyways here's the questions:

17) R1 on 2B when B2 hits a drive to the outfield that is not caught. B2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B. B1 (I think this is a typo, it should be B2), thinking that they would not make 2B safely, decides to retreat and is standing on 1B. R1 stops at 3B as the throw is cut-off in the infield. B2 now decides to advance to 2B and is thrown out. The umpire should rule obstruction and award B2 the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction.

I have False.

6) When using the shorthanded rule, a team may continue to play with one less player than it started the game on defense only.

I have True.

9) F1 simulates a legal pitch while not in contact with the pitcher's plate. F1 then steps on the pitcher's plate and pitches the ball which B1 hits for a homerun. The umpire should allow the run to count.

I have False because after the simulated pitch not on the plate we have a dead ball, illegal pitch, warning. ???

38) R1 on 1B and B2 scheduled to bat when B3 bats and grouns into a double-play. Prior to the next pitch the defense appeals that B3 batted out of order.

I have b. R1, B2 and B3 are out and B4 bats first in the next inning.

20) R1 on 1B and a 0-1 count on B2. B2 hits a foul fly ball that can not be caught with ordinary effort. While F3 attemps to catch the foul fly ball, R1 hinders F3 causing the ball to drop to the ground in foul ground. The umpire calls interference on R1 and returns B2 to bat with a 0-ball, 2-strike count because the ball was foul and not caught.

I have True.

That's it for now, thanks guys.

Here's a link to the exam if anyone wants to see it: http://downloads.asasoftball.com/ump...umpireexam.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Why on these:

17) R1 on 2B when B2 hits a drive to the outfield that is not caught. B2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B. B1 (I think this is a typo, it should be B2), thinking that they would not make 2B safely, decides to retreat and is standing on 1B. R1 stops at 3B as the throw is cut-off in the infield. B2 now decides to advance to 2B and is thrown out. The umpire should rule obstruction and award B2 the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction.

I have False.

6) When using the shorthanded rule, a team may continue to play with one less player than it started the game on defense only.

I have True.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Why on these:

17) R1 on 2B when B2 hits a drive to the outfield that is not caught. B2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B. B1 (I think this is a typo, it should be B2), thinking that they would not make 2B safely, decides to retreat and is standing on 1B. R1 stops at 3B as the throw is cut-off in the infield. B2 now decides to advance to 2B and is thrown out. The umpire should rule obstruction and award B2 the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction.

I have False.

6) When using the shorthanded rule, a team may continue to play with one less player than it started the game on defense only.

I have True.
Not 100% sure on 17 because of the wording. 6 is a little tricky in the wording as well but I'm pretty sure I have the correct answer???
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
6 is a little tricky in the wording as well but I'm pretty sure I have the correct answer???
But..

1. What if the team started the game shorthanded?
2. Does not the shorthanded rule equally apply to the offensive side of the game?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
But..

1. What if the team started the game shorthanded?
2. Does not the shorthanded rule equally apply to the offensive side of the game?
No, according to the rule book, i believe, if you start shorthanded, that's 9 defenders with the 10 spot on the lineup vacant... meaning every time that 10th spot comes up its an out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
No, according to the rule book, i believe, if you start shorthanded, that's 9 defenders with the 10 spot on the lineup vacant... meaning every time that 10th spot comes up its an out.
Read the question again. Look in ASA 4-2-D for any reference to "defense only."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agreen_14
17) R1 on 2B when B2 hits a drive to the outfield that is not caught. B2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B. B1 (I think this is a typo, it should be B2), thinking that they would not make 2B safely, decides to retreat and is standing on 1B. R1 stops at 3B as the throw is cut-off in the infield. B2 now decides to advance to 2B and is thrown out. The umpire should rule obstruction and award B2 the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction.

I have False.
Look again at ASA 8-5-B, EXCEPTION 1. Is exception 1 still applicable? Why or why not?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Pre-game Introduction Chess Ref Basketball 34 Thu Jan 18, 2007 05:35pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm
Introduction ~ New member Blackhawk357 Basketball 22 Thu Feb 13, 2003 08:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1