The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Introduction... First question? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/35628-introduction-first-question.html)

Agreen_14 Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:40am

Introduction... First question?
 
Hello fellow umpires. My name is Austin and this is my first year as an ASA umpire, well I'm actually not licensed yet but I've finished the test (open book). I'm super excited to start working the tourneys and regulation games which will be Men's SP and Co-ed SP. I'm also a player of the game so umpiring will be another way to enjoy the game which we all love!

Here's my questions right from the ASA 2007 exam itself. I'm not trying to get the answers easy, just merely checking to see if I am right. I want to understand the answers and I havn't had a class yet where the Umpire in-chief can help. He actually mailed me everything and told me to take an open book test then mail it back. Anyways here's the questions:

17) R1 on 2B when B2 hits a drive to the outfield that is not caught. B2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B. B1 (I think this is a typo, it should be B2), thinking that they would not make 2B safely, decides to retreat and is standing on 1B. R1 stops at 3B as the throw is cut-off in the infield. B2 now decides to advance to 2B and is thrown out. The umpire should rule obstruction and award B2 the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction.

I have False.

6) When using the shorthanded rule, a team may continue to play with one less player than it started the game on defense only.

I have True.

9) F1 simulates a legal pitch while not in contact with the pitcher's plate. F1 then steps on the pitcher's plate and pitches the ball which B1 hits for a homerun. The umpire should allow the run to count.

I have False because after the simulated pitch not on the plate we have a dead ball, illegal pitch, warning. ???

38) R1 on 1B and B2 scheduled to bat when B3 bats and grouns into a double-play. Prior to the next pitch the defense appeals that B3 batted out of order.

I have b. R1, B2 and B3 are out and B4 bats first in the next inning.

20) R1 on 1B and a 0-1 count on B2. B2 hits a foul fly ball that can not be caught with ordinary effort. While F3 attemps to catch the foul fly ball, R1 hinders F3 causing the ball to drop to the ground in foul ground. The umpire calls interference on R1 and returns B2 to bat with a 0-ball, 2-strike count because the ball was foul and not caught.

I have True.

That's it for now, thanks guys.

Here's a link to the exam if anyone wants to see it: http://downloads.asasoftball.com/ump...umpireexam.pdf

CecilOne Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:55am

Why on these:

17) R1 on 2B when B2 hits a drive to the outfield that is not caught. B2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B. B1 (I think this is a typo, it should be B2), thinking that they would not make 2B safely, decides to retreat and is standing on 1B. R1 stops at 3B as the throw is cut-off in the infield. B2 now decides to advance to 2B and is thrown out. The umpire should rule obstruction and award B2 the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction.

I have False.

6) When using the shorthanded rule, a team may continue to play with one less player than it started the game on defense only.

I have True.

Agreen_14 Wed Jun 13, 2007 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Why on these:

17) R1 on 2B when B2 hits a drive to the outfield that is not caught. B2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B. B1 (I think this is a typo, it should be B2), thinking that they would not make 2B safely, decides to retreat and is standing on 1B. R1 stops at 3B as the throw is cut-off in the infield. B2 now decides to advance to 2B and is thrown out. The umpire should rule obstruction and award B2 the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction.

I have False.

6) When using the shorthanded rule, a team may continue to play with one less player than it started the game on defense only.

I have True.

Not 100% sure on 17 because of the wording. 6 is a little tricky in the wording as well but I'm pretty sure I have the correct answer???

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Agreen_14
6 is a little tricky in the wording as well but I'm pretty sure I have the correct answer???

But..

1. What if the team started the game shorthanded?
2. Does not the shorthanded rule equally apply to the offensive side of the game?

Agreen_14 Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
But..

1. What if the team started the game shorthanded?
2. Does not the shorthanded rule equally apply to the offensive side of the game?

No, according to the rule book, i believe, if you start shorthanded, that's 9 defenders with the 10 spot on the lineup vacant... meaning every time that 10th spot comes up its an out.

Dakota Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Agreen_14
No, according to the rule book, i believe, if you start shorthanded, that's 9 defenders with the 10 spot on the lineup vacant... meaning every time that 10th spot comes up its an out.

Read the question again. Look in ASA 4-2-D for any reference to "defense only."
Quote:

Originally Posted by Agreen_14
17) R1 on 2B when B2 hits a drive to the outfield that is not caught. B2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B. B1 (I think this is a typo, it should be B2), thinking that they would not make 2B safely, decides to retreat and is standing on 1B. R1 stops at 3B as the throw is cut-off in the infield. B2 now decides to advance to 2B and is thrown out. The umpire should rule obstruction and award B2 the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction.

I have False.

Look again at ASA 8-5-B, EXCEPTION 1. Is exception 1 still applicable? Why or why not?

Agreen_14 Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Read the question again. Look in ASA 4-2-D for any reference to "defense only."
Look again at ASA 8-5-B, EXCEPTION 1. Is exception 1 still applicable? Why or why not?

Still not sure on #6. Too damn confusing! 4-2-d is for phisically challenged players. He's placed as #10 on the the lineup. The offense may still bat 10 or 11 (ep). Does this mean the 10th batter bats for the phisically challenged player?

17. Yes he's protected between the bases where the obstruction is called. But, he made the decision to go back to 1B base then later decided to try and get to 2B and is thrown out. I have an OUT... I'm wrong aren't I??

CecilOne Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Agreen_14
Still not sure on #6. Too damn confusing! 4-2-d is for phisically challenged players. He's placed as #10 on the the lineup. The offense may still bat 10 or 11 (ep). Does this mean the 10th batter bats for the phisically challenged player?

17. Yes he's protected between the bases where the obstruction is called. But, he made the decision to go back to 1B base then later decided to try and get to 2B and is thrown out. I have an OUT... I'm wrong aren't I??

Shorthanded should be 4-1-D and basically you can't have an empty spot on defense without having an empty spot in the batting order on offense.

BTW, just for orientation, the other responders to you are experts.

Agreen_14 Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
Shorthanded should be 4-1-D and basically you can't have an empty spot on defense without having an empty spot in the batting order on offense.

BTW, just for orientation, the other responders to you are experts.

thanks cecil, sorry if I'm coming across like I know more about the rules. I was basically challenged and not given the answer so I was kind of giving my explanation of how I interpreted the rule.. I came here for help, so I know these guys are experts, I'm a beginner like I said just trying to understand some of the rules. I don't want to get out there and make an *** of myself some I doing as much research as possible.

CecilOne Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Agreen_14
thanks cecil, sorry if I'm coming across like I know more about the rules. I was basically challenged and not given the answer so I was kind of giving my explanation of how I interpreted the rule.. I came here for help, so I know these guys are experts, I'm a beginner like I said just trying to understand some of the rules. I don't want to get out there and make an *** of myself some I doing as much research as possible.

I wasn't criticizing, just helping you sort out the experts from those who aren't.

Dakota Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Agreen_14
Still not sure on #6. Too damn confusing! 4-2-d is for phisically challenged players. He's placed as #10 on the the lineup. The offense may still bat 10 or 11 (ep). Does this mean the 10th batter bats for the phisically challenged player?

Sorry - fat fingered typing. 4-1-D.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Agreen_14
17. Yes he's protected between the bases where the obstruction is called. But, he made the decision to go back to 1B base then later decided to try and get to 2B and is thrown out. I have an OUT... I'm wrong aren't I??

Rather than give you direct answers, I'm trying to help you think it through. The runner will always be making decisions on where to go after he is obstructed. Once obstructed, he is protected in two ways, 1) To the base he would have achieved (in your judgment) had there been no obstruction, and 2) between the bases where the obs occurred. Protection 2) overrides protection 1) - that is advancing beyond the base he was protected to (when that base is the preceding base) does not remove his protection between the bases. That protection between the bases can only be removed under listed situations: a) the runner does achieve the base he would have achieved and then advances AFTER a play on ANOTHER runner, or b) the runner commits one of the listed infractions (e.g. interference, missing a base, etc.). The rule makes no exception for retreating and then deciding to advance again. He is still protected between the bases where the obstruction occurred.

Agreen_14 Wed Jun 13, 2007 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota
Sorry - fat fingered typing. 4-1-D.

Rather than give you direct answers, I'm trying to help you think it through. The runner will always be making decisions on where to go after he is obstructed. Once obstructed, he is protected in two ways, 1) To the base he would have achieved (in your judgment) had there been no obstruction, and 2) between the bases where the obs occurred. Protection 2) overrides protection 1) - that is advancing beyond the base he was protected to (when that base is the preceding base) does not remove his protection between the bases. That protection between the bases can only be removed under listed situations: a) the runner does achieve the base he would have achieved and then advances AFTER a play on ANOTHER runner, or b) the runner commits one of the listed infractions (e.g. interference, missing a base, etc.). The rule makes no exception for retreating and then deciding to advance again. He is still protected between the bases where the obstruction occurred.

Understood you 100% Dakota from your first post. I'm not looking for the answer outright either buddy. Thanks for helping me out on that... I could've sworn that I read somewhere though that OBS is a delayed dead ball and after he touched a base he's no longer protected between the two... I now have True for #17 thanks... What about the other questions?

Agreen_14 Wed Jun 13, 2007 02:05pm

guys, thanks for all the help. I've found everything that I need. Looking forward to conversing some of the experience I encounter in the near future with you. I'll definitely be back to post...

Dakota Wed Jun 13, 2007 02:15pm

Oh, I forgot to say ... welcome to the board!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1