The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member

Play at the plate

Hey guys (and gals),

As I've said before, I'm new to softball officiating, and so I have a question which may seem basic to most of you guys, but I'd appreciate any help.

Ball thrown from F6 to F2 with runner R1 rounding third and coming home. F2 makes catch at the plate, and R1 jumps outside the base path to avoid the tag. I call R1 out for jumping outside the base path. No questions from either team. After the game, I was talking to my partner, who said that a player cannot be called out for going outside the baseline on a play at the plate. Is this true? Is this the same in all ball (SP, FP, and baseball)?

Thanks,
Quinn
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 10:38pm
Official Forum Member

Thats idiotic.
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewNCref
Hey guys (and gals),

As I've said before, I'm new to softball officiating, and so I have a question which may seem basic to most of you guys, but I'd appreciate any help.

Ball thrown from F6 to F2 with runner R1 rounding third and coming home. F2 makes catch at the plate, and R1 jumps outside the base path to avoid the tag. I call R1 out for jumping outside the base path. No questions from either team. After the game, I was talking to my partner, who said that a player cannot be called out for going outside the baseline on a play at the plate. Is this true? Is this the same in all ball (SP, FP, and baseball)?

Thanks,
Quinn
Your partner is wrong.
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 02:03am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
Your partner is wrong.

What he said....
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 06:44am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Hey guys (and gals),

Thanks,
Quinn
Speaking ASA