The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Play at the plate (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/33946-play-plate.html)

NewNCref Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:17pm

Play at the plate
 
Hey guys (and gals),

As I've said before, I'm new to softball officiating, and so I have a question which may seem basic to most of you guys, but I'd appreciate any help.

Ball thrown from F6 to F2 with runner R1 rounding third and coming home. F2 makes catch at the plate, and R1 jumps outside the base path to avoid the tag. I call R1 out for jumping outside the base path. No questions from either team. After the game, I was talking to my partner, who said that a player cannot be called out for going outside the baseline on a play at the plate. Is this true? Is this the same in all ball (SP, FP, and baseball)?

Thanks,
Quinn

wadeintothem Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:38pm

Thats idiotic.

jimpiano Tue Apr 24, 2007 11:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NewNCref
Hey guys (and gals),

As I've said before, I'm new to softball officiating, and so I have a question which may seem basic to most of you guys, but I'd appreciate any help.

Ball thrown from F6 to F2 with runner R1 rounding third and coming home. F2 makes catch at the plate, and R1 jumps outside the base path to avoid the tag. I call R1 out for jumping outside the base path. No questions from either team. After the game, I was talking to my partner, who said that a player cannot be called out for going outside the baseline on a play at the plate. Is this true? Is this the same in all ball (SP, FP, and baseball)?

Thanks,
Quinn

Your partner is wrong.

azbigdawg Wed Apr 25, 2007 02:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimpiano
Your partner is wrong.


What he said....

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 25, 2007 06:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NewNCref
Hey guys (and gals),

As I've said before, I'm new to softball officiating, and so I have a question which may seem basic to most of you guys, but I'd appreciate any help.

Ball thrown from F6 to F2 with runner R1 rounding third and coming home. F2 makes catch at the plate, and R1 jumps outside the base path to avoid the tag. I call R1 out for jumping outside the base path. No questions from either team. After the game, I was talking to my partner, who said that a player cannot be called out for going outside the baseline on a play at the plate. Is this true? Is this the same in all ball (SP, FP, and baseball)?

Thanks,
Quinn

Speaking ASA

#1. There is no rule forbidding the runner from ever leaving ANY base line.
#2. There is a rule forbidding the runner from leaving the base path and that applies ANYWHERE on the field.
#3. Your partner needs to actually READ the rule book and then attend a few clinics.

SWFLguy Wed Apr 25, 2007 07:53am

What is worse is when there is a rule change and then an
"old vet" who doesn't read the rule book or attend training
sessions makes a call based on the old rule. That really steams me !
In a "perfect world" officials organizations would have enough members
to force everyone to keep up in order to get assignments.
Sadly that is seldom the case.

CecilOne Wed Apr 25, 2007 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA

#2. There is a rule forbidding the runner from leaving the base path and that applies ANYWHERE on the field.

When avoiding a tag?

Skahtboi Wed Apr 25, 2007 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne
When avoiding a tag?

There is no rule forbidding it. They are simply out for running more than three feet from the basepath when a fielder is attempting to touch them with the ball. (ASA 8:7:A) ;)

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi
There is no rule forbidding it. They are simply out for running more than three feet from the basepath when a fielder is attempting to touch them with the ball. (ASA 8:7:A) ;)

Yes, that is correct, but I don't think this umpire would know the difference. I used forbidding because if the runner does leave the base path to avoid a tag, that person is no longer a runner.

Point is I simply made a comment that a rule exists, I just didn't offer the specifics.

NewNCref Wed Apr 25, 2007 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
#1. There is no rule forbidding the runner from ever leaving ANY base line.
#2. There is a rule forbidding the runner from leaving the base path and that applies ANYWHERE on the field.

I just want to make sure I'm understanding this right. The difference you're pointing out here is that the base line isn't necessarily the base path. IE, R1 runs straight through and past third, and then attempts home. Base line is directly between third and home, but base path three feet either side of the straight line between where he is and home plate. Is that right? Is that the distinction you were trying to draw?

mcrowder Wed Apr 25, 2007 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NewNCref
I just want to make sure I'm understanding this right. The difference you're pointing out here is that the base line isn't necessarily the base path. IE, R1 runs straight through and past third, and then attempts home. Base line is directly between third and home, but base path three feet either side of the straight line between where he is and home plate. Is that right? Is that the distinction you were trying to draw?

Close.

First - the base LINE is irrelevant in almost every situation.

The only thing you omitted in the above quote is that the basepath is 3 feet either side of a straightline between where he/she is and home plate AT THE MOMENT A FIELDER INITIATES A TAG ATTEMPT (and also a straight line between that point and third base.) Don't create a basepath in your head for a particular runner until that tag attempt happens.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1