![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
And remember this was predicated on the rule book, not common sense. Rule 8-2 Batter-Runner is out: F. When the batter-runnner interferes with:....a fielder attempting to field a batter ball. I When an infield fly is DECLARED. In this case the batter/runner by continuing to run can be called for interference since the fielder is near the base line. Whether the ball is fair or foul is immaterial to the penalty...Remember the case cited said interferernce to break up a double play: If the ball is fair the already out batter was guilty of interference, by definition, when he continued to run after being declared out...and, if foul, would be guilty of interference by 8-2-f . In either case the umpire would be justifed in calling the runner nearest the plate out. I think this is a good example of how answering a narrowly drawn question, while getting the correct answer, does not necessarily mean that, under the same circumstances in a real game, there would not be a reason to make another ruling. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Double First Base | SRW | Softball | 11 | Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am |
Double first base | bkbjones | Softball | 11 | Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm |
Double Base | mach3 | Softball | 6 | Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm |
Again double base 1st | oppool | Softball | 4 | Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm |
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here | Tap | Softball | 9 | Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm |