The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
ASA Double Base - Purpose of 8.2.M.4.?

Runner is out
- On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base the D and the O may use either portion of the base.


I understood this to mean the "common/lay" use of the term "Force Out" (as ASA uses elsewhere as well) as opposed to the specific written Force out definition, which would make the above make no sense.

How I understood it from the 06 Clinic was for all intents and purposes the base becomes one base once the B/R situation was resolved and my hand out from 06 seems to indicate this as well.

ie.. from EZ Teams scenario - R1@1B - Liner caught by diving F3 who lands in foul territory. Can they use orange to make the out on R1 tagging up?

-----------------

If that is not allowed by rule, which I agree strictly written rules (and common sense) do not allow it.. but then why does 8.2.M.4 exist at all?

How do you have a "definition force" at 1B?
You can have a "layman" force at 1B.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Tue Mar 27, 2007 at 10:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Runner is out
- On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base the D and the O may use either portion of the base.


I understood this to mean the "common/lay" use of the term "Force Out" (as ASA uses elsewhere as well) as opposed to the specific written Force out definition, which would make the above make no sense.

How I understood it from the 06 Clinic was for all intents and purposes the base becomes one base once the B/R situation was resolved and my hand out from 06 seems to indicate this as well.

ie.. from EZ Teams scenario - R1@1B - Liner caught by diving F3 who lands in foul territory. Can they use orange to make the out on R1 tagging up?

-----------------

If that is not allowed by rule, which I agree strictly written rules (and common sense) do not allow it.. but then why does 8.2.M.4 exist at all?

How do you have a "definition force" at 1B?
You can have a "layman" force at 1B.
To avoid collision and injury when the play causes the fielder to be in foul territory

i.e ball hits the white base and bounds into foul territory,
ball is booted by first baseman into foul territory, etc
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
To avoid collision and injury when the play causes the fielder to be in foul territory

i.e ball hits the white base and bounds into foul territory,
ball is booted by first baseman into foul territory, etc
whatchu talkin bout willis?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
you asked "but then why does 8.2.M.4 exist at all?"

I said to avoid collisions and injuries when the play is in foul territory. That rule allows the fielder to touch the orange and the runner to choose.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
you asked "but then why does 8.2.M.4 exist at all?"

I said to avoid collisions and injuries when the play is in foul territory. That rule allows the fielder to touch the orange and the runner to choose.
That scenario is not a force. That scenario is a live ball appeal. Live ball appeal is not mentioned in the Double base rules.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
That scenario is not a force. That scenario is a live ball appeal. Live ball appeal is not mentioned in the Double base rules.
Both scenarios I mentioned are live ball forces.

Batted ball hits white portion of base and bounds into foul territory where F3 fields it......rule 8.2.4m allows fielder to touch orange portion of first base and the runner to use the white portion. The reason is to prevent a collision and possible injury, a rule change in 2006.

Same scenario would apply if the fielder booted a fair ball into foul territory and retrieved it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 06:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Runner is out
- On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base the D and the O may use either portion of the base.

I understood this to mean the "common/lay" use of the term "Force Out" (as ASA uses elsewhere as well) as opposed to the specific written Force out definition, which would make the above make no sense.

How I understood it from the 06 Clinic was for all intents and purposes the base becomes one base once the B/R situation was resolved and my hand out from 06 seems to indicate this as well.

ie.. from EZ Teams scenario - R1@1B - Liner caught by diving F3 who lands in foul territory. Can they use orange to make the out on R1 tagging up?

-----------------

If that is not allowed by rule, which I agree strictly written rules (and common sense) do not allow it.. but then why does 8.2.M.4 exist at all?
Let's start by realizing that any restriction on the use of a double base only applies to executing a play on the BR. There are no such restrictions when making any other play.
Quote:

How do you have a "definition force" at 1B?
You can have a "layman" force at 1B.
Yes, the term as defined is specific, yet used as a matter of convenience and brevity. Speaking of common sense, just think about the differences between a runner and a BR. Are not both required to advance to the next base to avoid being retired due to the batter becoming a BR? Can both not be put out by either a tag of the player or the base to which they are required to advance?

The only real difference is that in the BR's case, the "force" can never be relieved for any reason as there is no trailing runner or base to which s/he can retreat to avoid being put out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 08:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Let's start by realizing that any restriction on the use of a double base only applies to executing a play on the BR. There are no such restrictions when making any other play.[/b]
and after that, it becomes one base.

So, in the OP scenario is that out our safe?

On ezteams you definitely implied by your question, it was not allowed.


Quote:

Yes, the term as defined is specific, yet used as a matter of convenience and brevity. Speaking of common sense, just think about the differences between a runner and a BR. Are not both required to advance to the next base to avoid being retired due to the batter becoming a BR? Can both not be put out by either a tag of the player or the base to which they are required to advance?

The only real difference is that in the BR's case, the "force" can never be relieved for any reason as there is no trailing runner or base to which s/he can retreat to avoid being put out.
told ya when we discussed that awhile ago, they were gonna have to fix that. You were adamant it wasnt a force. I agree, but ASA uses force (even before this rule) in the typically understood fan/coach/jimpiano manner


I'm not putting you in the spot to defend this lame rule Irish, me and you are on the same page on what we think about the double base.

But its there, so I'm just making sure I'm doing it right.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Wed Mar 28, 2007 at 08:02am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Since this thread has become so damn convoluted, let's start anew.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
Runner is out
- On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base the D and the O may use either portion of the base.

I understood this to mean the "common/lay" use of the term "Force Out" (as ASA uses elsewhere as well) as opposed to the specific written Force out definition, which would make the above make no sense.
To start, where does is state "Runner is out"? If you are referring to 8.2.M, it is the Batter-Runner, not the runner. Yes, in this instance the term "force out" is used in a common/lay manner for convenience and brevity. It should read "on any attempt to retire the batter-runner from the foul side of first base".
Quote:

How I understood it from the 06 Clinic was for all intents and purposes the base becomes one base once the B/R situation was resolved and my hand out from 06 seems to indicate this as well.

ie.. from EZ Teams scenario - R1@1B - Liner caught by diving F3 who lands in foul territory. Can they use orange to make the out on R1 tagging up?
The obvious answer to this question is yes.
Quote:

If that is not allowed by rule, which I agree strictly written rules (and common sense) do not allow it.. but then why does 8.2.M.4 exist at all?
Again, you are referencing a rule which applies to a BR only to that of a live ball appeal on a runner.
Quote:

How do you have a "definition force" at 1B?
You can have a "layman" force at 1B.
Covered this already.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
In ASA rule book usage, putting the BR out prior to touching 1B is a force out. Even though a strict reading of the definition would leave some doubt on this, this is backed up by consistent ASA interpretations. I know the "is the BR 'forced' to 1B" is a never-ending source of amusement for the OBR debaters, but it really has little substance WRT ASA.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Damn, Tony deleted his message before I could respond.

But, no, you don't need to add "before the BR reaches 1B" as once the BR reaches 1B, they are no longer a BR
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Damn, Tony deleted his message before I could respond.

But, no, you don't need to add "before the BR reaches 1B" as once the BR reaches 1B, they are no longer a BR
READY - FIRE - AIM - DELETE
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Since this thread has become so damn convoluted, let's start anew.



To start, where does is state "Runner is out"? If you are referring to 8.2.M, it is the Batter-Runner, not the runner. Yes, in this instance the term "force out" is used in a common/lay manner for convenience and brevity. It should read "on any attempt to retire the batter-runner from the foul side of first base".

The obvious answer to this question is yes.

Again, you are referencing a rule which applies to a BR only to that of a live ball appeal on a runner.

Covered this already.
Good enough, thanks mike. You threw me when you asked the question.

If it wasnt for stuff like this, we wouldnt need new rules edition everyear, I suppose.

__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
How I understood it from the 06 Clinic was for all intents and purposes the base becomes one base once the B/R situation was resolved and my hand out from 06 seems to indicate this as well.
It is my understanding that it becomes one base for ANY R, including B-R becomes R as a result of having reached 1B. Ref: Rule 8.2.M.6 Rule 8.2.M.7 and Rule 8.2.M.8.

It would probably make more sense to refer to the player who was a B-R, and has passed 1B and play has not yet ended as R0 (zero).

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
ie.. from EZ Teams scenario - R1@1B - Liner caught by diving F3 who lands in foul territory. Can they use orange to make the out on R1 tagging up?
-----------------
If that is not allowed by rule, which I agree strictly written rules (and common sense) do not allow it..
By rule, I have an OUT here. As both defense is entitled to use the whole base while making a play on R; just as R is entitled to use the whole base in baserunning. Again, ref: Rule 8.2.M.6 Rule 8.2.M.7 and Rule 8.2.M.8.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
but then why does 8.2.M.4 exist at all?
How do you have a "definition force" at 1B?
You can have a "layman" force at 1B.
8.2.M.3 requires that defense must use white and B-R must use colored portion.

IMHO 8.2.M.4 should have been an EXCEPTION to 8.2.M.3 rather than a separate rule.

Without the EXCEPTION (aka 8.2.M.4) we would have a rule requiring B-R to be in a postion that could potentially interfere with the opportunity to put B-R out.

I don't know if this was the reason the rule was written as I was not there, but this is what makes the most logical case to me.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2007, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
"IMHO 8.2.M.4 should have been an EXCEPTION to 8.2.M.3 rather than a separate rule."-TCANNIZZO

I think the reason it is not an exeption is because there are more than one exceptions

On a play on a live batted ball that forces the defender into foul territory the rule permits the BATTER/RUNNER to use the white portion and the defender the colored which is covered by 8-2, m,4

On a play where an errant throw pulls the defender into the foul side of the bag, the same applies 8-2, m, 5

I think the rulesmakers figured it was clearer this way than trying to explain two variations in one exception.

Last edited by jimpiano; Wed Mar 28, 2007 at 12:14pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double First Base SRW Softball 11 Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
Again double base 1st oppool Softball 4 Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1