The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 06, 2006, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bismarck, North Dakota
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA. If F3 was behind R1, the ball is dead, the BR is awarded 1B and any runners forced are advanced.

Does it really matter where F3 is located? If the ball hit a batter while still in contact with the base and the ball is fair batted, isn't it still a "live" ball? I would have no call, BU doesn't call time in my games at the plate, runner out at second because of force, runner on first and let's play ball. I'm still trying to figure out why Mark fell into foul territory.
__________________
Thomas Hamkens
North Dakota ASA Umpire
Verlangsamen Sie Wurf weicher Ball ist ein wirklicher Sport
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2006, 05:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDblue
Does it really matter where F3 is located?
If the runner is in contact with the base when hit by the ball, the runner is not out.

If the ball hits the runner before it passes an infielder other than the pitcher, it is a dead ball. If the ball hits the runner after it passes an infielder, it probably will be a live ball unless other fielders could make a play. (After "unless" varies slightly by which set of rules are being used.)
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2006, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDblue
Does it really matter where F3 is located? If the ball hit a batter while still in contact with the base and the ball is fair batted, isn't it still a "live" ball? I would have no call, BU doesn't call time in my games at the plate, runner out at second because of force, runner on first and let's play ball. I'm still trying to figure out why Mark fell into foul territory.
If F3 is in front of the base, the ball remains alive, as there was no play, and thus no matter that the ball hit R1. If F3 is behind the base, and perhaps had a play, that causes the ball to be dead when it hits R1. If runner is on the base, dead ball, BR given 1st, others advance only if forced.

While I agree that BU doesn't call "time", BU should call a dead ball; and this was one, by rule.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2006, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
If F3 is in front of the base, the ball remains alive, as there was no play, and thus no matter that the ball hit R1. If F3 is behind the base, and perhaps had a play, that causes the ball to be dead when it hits R1. If runner is on the base, dead ball, BR given 1st, others advance only if forced.

While I agree that BU doesn't call "time", BU should call a dead ball; and this was one, by rule.
F3 was behind the baseline, but definitely had no play on the ball. He was playing off the line, and the ball was obviously traveling fast enough and was hit close enough to the first base line that F3 had no play on the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2006, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDblue
Does it really matter where F3 is located? If the ball hit a batter while still in contact with the base and the ball is fair batted, isn't it still a "live" ball? I would have no call, BU doesn't call time in my games at the plate, runner out at second because of force, runner on first and let's play ball. I'm still trying to figure out why Mark fell into foul territory.
You really need to reread POE #44 on page 156 of the 2006 ASA rule book. You're ruling would be incorrect if the closest defender was not playing in front of R1.

BTW, any umpire may kill the play at any time if the situation or rules require it.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 08, 2006, 12:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDblue
Does it really matter where F3 is located? If the ball hit a batter while still in contact with the base and the ball is fair batted, isn't it still a "live" ball? I would have no call, BU doesn't call time in my games at the plate, runner out at second because of force, runner on first and let's play ball. I'm still trying to figure out why Mark fell into foul territory.
This was my thinking on the matter, although I may have been wrong.... and I'm still trying to figure out why Mark fell at all!!! The guy is built like Tarzan and definitely wasn't knocked down. Guess he just felt it was the thing to do...since he wasn't gonna make it to second anyway. And here's another kicker that was brought to my attention in discussing with our UIC, who wasn't there at the time. The batter/runner crossed 1B while Mark was still on the ground in foul territory beside 1B. Wouldn't that make the batter/runner out for passing R1?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 08, 2006, 04:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
I have not seen where you said what rule set you were under, but as far as I know all softball codes agree with the following responses:
Quote:
Originally Posted by JollyJim
F3 was behind the baseline, but definitely had no play on the ball.
If the ball has not passed a fielder (other than the pitcher) it is dead. It does not matter if F3 did or did not have a play on the ball.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JollyJim
And here's another kicker that was brought to my attention in discussing with our UIC, who wasn't there at the time. The batter/runner crossed 1B while Mark was still on the ground in foul territory beside 1B. Wouldn't that make the batter/runner out for passing R1?
1. The ball was dead when it hit "Mark", so what happen subsequently does not matter.
2. If there were a play where B1 was on 1B and was remaining in contact with 1B and B/R overran 1B (not advancing to 2B, but just overrunning), this would not be passing the runner. In the original play above, if F3 had been in front 1B it would have been a live ball. If everything else was the same, with Mark falling into foul territory, I do not believe I would have judged that Mark was retreating to home plate and thus I would not have ruled B/R had passed him.

(Note: I realize "retreating to home" might bring up a whole other discussion. Before it starts, and if it does, remember that in softball, it is a dead ball and an out if a B/R retreats to home to avoid a tag.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 08, 2006, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDblue
. . .BU doesn't call time in my games at the plate. . .
Why not? I can think of many instances where that would be the proper call for the BU.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you handle this situation? Rev.Ref63 Basketball 8 Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:31am
Best way to handle this situation. alabamabluezebra Softball 4 Wed May 19, 2004 12:04pm
How do you handle this situation? alabamabluezebra Softball 7 Fri Jun 06, 2003 02:22pm
Tell me how you handle this situation . . . Gold_Spark Baseball 7 Sat Aug 24, 2002 01:20pm
How would you handle this situation. JRutledge Basketball 33 Mon Jul 29, 2002 10:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1