The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Call

Bases loaded, two outs, tied score,10th inning.

Ball four is called on the batter who proceeds to celebrate. PU steps around to the front of the plate to watch R1 score while her teammates joined in the batter's celebration a few feet up the first base line.

Defense coach approaches the plate umpire and protests that the BR never touched 1B. Okay, DMC, should have waited.

When the celebrating players hear the coach, a couple shove the batter toward 1B.

Your call. Game over or are you going to the 11th?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
What time is it and do I need a bathroom break? LOL

I hope I didn't see the assist (once again, kidding), but if I did, I'm taking the out, since it sounds like an assisted runner.

Play on.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 90
Going to the 11th, 12th..... BR out on runner assistance, not reaching 1B safely, no runs score.
__________________
Joe Herzer
Dallas, TX DSUA
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Were the players who assisted the other 2 runners?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Does the way "teammates joined in the batter's celebration a few feet up the first base line" constitute gathering to hinder the defense?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Are you out for being assisted during an awarded base?
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
First, there is no reference to what rules governed the game. Second, cite the rule that says an AWARDED base would not count if the B/R didn't legally attain 1B.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 185
Coaches guess...Not touching base is a live ball appeal and runners may advance; proper appeal should be by player with ball stepping on base, I think...run counts, game over(?). Notice my lack of conviction...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kananga, DR Congo ex Illinois
Posts: 279
I don't believe we have a live ball here, subsequently, unless the BR or one of the other Rs abandoned the field the run scores.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 02:27pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
My stab:
Depends - is the ball live or not? (i.e.: is this SP or FP?)

Speaking ASA, FP
-An awarded base on balls is still a live ball (8.1.c.effect.1)
-There are no runners behind the BR, so in order to be assisted by another runner, someone had to have been passed. I have an out. (8.7.d)
-If the BR was assisted by anyone other than another runner, then I have an out. (8.7.e)

On to the next inning.


If SP,
-An awarded base on balls is a dead ball. (8.1.c.effects.2-4)
-Can't call an out on passing the runner, since the ball is dead. 8.7.d
-Assisting the runner only applies to a live ball situation, so no out here. (8.7.e)

Count the run. Game over.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluezebra
First, there is no reference to what rules governed the game. Second, cite the rule that says an AWARDED base would not count if the B/R didn't legally attain 1B.

Bob
Bob - only the BR is actually awarded a base. The forced runners are allowed to "advance without liability to be put out", but are not AWARDED their next base.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Speaking Fed
The BR is out
8-6-5
A runner is out when anyone other than another runner physically assists the runner while the ball is in play

Granted, this does not refer to a BR but other rules in 8-6 are applied to BR's so I would apply this one as well

To answer Dakota's question, If the other 2 runners were the ones assisting I suppose she is safe. That scenario seems so TW though.

I sort of pictured that exception to mean a trailing runner can help someone to her feet or push her to the next base in the event of a fall or a lapse in running.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
-There are no runners behind the BR, so in order to be assisted by another runner, someone had to have been passed. I have an out.
I thought about that but R3 would be coming over from 2B and and R2 from 3B All they are doing is establishing a very unusual base path. If they returned to the position between home and 1B by retouching their previously occupied bases and ended up behind the BR, then she passed them otherwise, I don't think so. That is why I put that it would be very TW in the other post.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 185
I interpreted the OP as runner on 3rd scoring before batter was 'assisted'. Play still live. Run counts. Runner then was assisted...runner out. Doesn't chronology count in this sitch?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 27, 2006, 03:09pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by bellnier
I interpreted the OP as runner on 3rd scoring before batter was 'assisted'. Play still live. Run counts. Runner then was assisted...runner out. Doesn't chronology count in this sitch?
Nope. BR always needs to legally attain first base for any runs to score, unless there's a special league rule regarding BR's not having to run out home runs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Good Call / Bad Call whiskers_ump Softball 29 Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1