![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Speaking Fed
The BR is out 8-6-5 A runner is out when anyone other than another runner physically assists the runner while the ball is in play Granted, this does not refer to a BR but other rules in 8-6 are applied to BR's so I would apply this one as well To answer Dakota's question, If the other 2 runners were the ones assisting I suppose she is safe. That scenario seems so TW though. I sort of pictured that exception to mean a trailing runner can help someone to her feet or push her to the next base in the event of a fall or a lapse in running.
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Seems to me if you werent quick enough to yell "ball game" and beat feet during a celebration - ya gotta ring up the br and prepare for a new inning.
BR is out (INT) The run doesnt count due to out at 1B even if not, would be out on appeal. So the BR is out 6 ways from sunday but either way You are screwed ![]() Thats my guess.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS Last edited by wadeintothem; Thu Jul 27, 2006 at 11:29pm. |
|
|||
|
I think that by the book this is a clear cut out.
I also understand that by all standards of fairness, most umpires would not WANT to call this out, and for good reason. My only question that might give us some wiggleroom here is the word "assist". During an awarded base, is a gentle shove in the general direction of the awarded base really assisting? Absent a printed definition in the rulebook we are left to using dictionary definitions of words. Assisting someone is aiding them in achieving a goal. Since this is an awarded base, and BR was not debilitated in any way, could it be determined (within the framework of umpire judgement at least) by the umpire that such a shove, even if in the right direction, was not assisting the runner? IOW, did the shove actually help the runner achieve the base? Would it not have been just as easy for the runner to achieve the base if the shove was in the wrong direction? Was anything actually done during said shove to actually ASSIST here? I don't know --- I'm just throwing that out there.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Quote:
To the best of my knowledge, only the NCAA acknowledges an umpire terminating a game by declaring "GAME". Anyone aware of any other association where these words have meaning? I believe NCAA allows a coach to make a dead-ball appeal. That's why the it was a DMC. The ball wasn't dead and it tipped off the offense. It's quite possible that the umpire would have let the assist go if the defense had not brought attention to the BR not yet advancing to 1B. The celebrating teammates did indeed literally push her toward 1B while telling her she had to touch the base. The NPF follows NCAA rules.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Well when i say it it means game over, and thats no myth and thats ASA. In timed tourneys I'll usually say "time has expired" if we are continuing play after time has expired and "thats the ball game" if its finished (drop dead etc). I have NO CLUE why you would think this is a myth. Or actually, no clue as to whatchu talkin bout willis. As to your scenario.. it wouldnt matter with the coaches appeal IMO unless you werent there. If it was just game over and you were still on the field you'd have to allow the dead ball appeal.. if it was live ball its out by INT. Pretty simple scenario actually. Dont complicate it by pretending saying "thats the ball game" to end a game is a myth. Its just words used..of many which could be used.. and could not possibly be a myth. OUt of curiosity though, which words do you believe you have been allowed to use by the immortal ASA to end a game?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The question is ... is the runner out for being assisted in this sitch. To me, all indicators lead toward a yes, and an 11th inning. But Mike has been accused of trickery in the past, and there may be something else to this. (Note - I don't believe Passing is at all at issue here).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
I think it is as simple as it appears. No run can score if 3rd out is batter-runner not safely reaching first; and it seems clear that BR was illegally assisted. In softball, we have a new inning.
I believe baseball states all forced runners are also awarded the next base (as opposed to may advance without liability to be put out UNLESS....). That may be where bluezebra Bob got his thought process.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
| Good Call / Bad Call | whiskers_ump | Softball | 29 | Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am |
| Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |