Thread: double base
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 10:24pm
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
double base

Does anyone know the significance of the following change in this year's ASA Rule 8-2-M?

Rule 8-2-M-1 from the 2005 book is 8-2-M-1 and 8-2-M-2 in the 2006 book. (That's no problem; the entries are shorter and clearer.) 8-2-M-2 has naturally become 8-2-M-3, but 8-2-M-3 has been split into 8-2-M-4 and 8-2-M-5. Does anyone know what's going on?

8-2-M-4, "On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base," now stands alone, but it seems to be missing something. Every other entry under 8-2-M is a complete sentence.

What I'm trying to find out is whether, if a ground ball bounces off F3's chest and into foul territory, and F3 retrieves the ball, can he use the orange base? The way I read this, he can, but I'm not sure exactly how to read this rule.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote