The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   double base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/27153-double-base.html)

greymule Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:24pm

double base
 
Does anyone know the significance of the following change in this year's ASA Rule 8-2-M?

Rule 8-2-M-1 from the 2005 book is 8-2-M-1 and 8-2-M-2 in the 2006 book. (That's no problem; the entries are shorter and clearer.) 8-2-M-2 has naturally become 8-2-M-3, but 8-2-M-3 has been split into 8-2-M-4 and 8-2-M-5. Does anyone know what's going on?

8-2-M-4, "On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base," now stands alone, but it seems to be missing something. Every other entry under 8-2-M is a complete sentence.

What I'm trying to find out is whether, if a ground ball bounces off F3's chest and into foul territory, and F3 retrieves the ball, can he use the orange base? The way I read this, he can, but I'm not sure exactly how to read this rule.

Ed Maeder Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:54pm

8-2-M-4 has an addition to it since the book was printed. The next added sentence is ''The defense and offense can use either color." In answer to your question I read it the same way because it is a force out attempt from the foul side of first base. Can't see making F3 cross in front of batter-runner to get to the white. Defeats the purpose of the safety base.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jun 22, 2006 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder
Defeats the purpose of the safety base.

Common sense and proper 1B mechanics defeat the purpose of the safety base. :D

Skahtboi Thu Jun 22, 2006 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Common sense and proper 1B mechanics defeat the purpose of the safety base. :D

I believe I have heard that before.....:p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1