![]() |
|
|||
Speaking ASA fastpitch, a pitched ball which touches the ground before reaching home plate or touches home plate, and the batter does not swing, is by rule, a BALL.
Since you mentioned you had high school students as umpires, this is also true for high school softball. If the pitched ball hits the plate, and is not swung at, it is a BALL, regardless of whether it went through the strike zone or not. The ASA Rule is 7-5-A. The NHFS (high school) rule is 7-2-2-EFFECT.
__________________
Tom |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
strike/called 3rd strike calls | chuckfan1 | Baseball | 8 | Tue May 11, 2010 12:44pm |
Strike or HBP? | JRSooner | Baseball | 9 | Tue May 17, 2005 09:05pm |
HBP or strike?? | msrock1954 | Softball | 5 | Sat May 14, 2005 01:12pm |
third strike | yankeesfan | Baseball | 3 | Fri Apr 29, 2005 09:41pm |
It can't be a strike if...... | Andy | Softball | 6 | Mon Nov 08, 2004 05:17am |