The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Posts: 53
Talking

Had a game last night, 9th grade very poor level of play, and had the following situation occur: Batter swings way early on a pitch that wasn't even to the plate, the ball hit's the ground in front of the plate and then hit's the batter on her shin. I initially indicated the strike but then ruled that the pitch hit her outside the strike zone and awarded her 1rst base. I think I may have blown this call and wondered what y'all think? What would the proper ruling have been?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Yup, you missed that one. That's a dead ball, strike. Your batter tried to hit the ball, that's a strike. And the ball hit her, that's a dead ball.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Posts: 53
Thanks Steve, as I almost immediately realized I'd blow the call. Next time I won't!!!! Constantly learning:-)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Learning By Blowing it.

I am finding ,as a 1st yr ump and Basketball official ,that I really learn stuff when i blow it then ask on here and other places what the real call should have been. I am glad to see that I am not the only one who blows calls then does their homework to get the correct answer. LOL
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
No matter what the experience or skill level, WE will still blow the occasional call - learn from that & don't make that particular mistake again.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Posts: 53
Smile Re: Learning By Blowing it.

Quote:
Originally posted by Chess Ref
I am finding ,as a 1st yr ump and Basketball official ,that I really learn stuff when i blow it then ask on here and other places what the real call should have been. I am glad to see that I am not the only one who blows calls then does their homework to get the correct answer. LOL
I have been officiating high school softball for 6 yrs. now, and I'm always learning especially on these bulletin boards. I had to learn everything on my own, as here in Michigan we don't have any mentors, but I do attend any clinic I can. There is no such thing as a stupid question!!! The key is reading and re-reading the rules, ask questions, do as many games as you can, and HAVE FUN!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1