The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 09:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
....the catcher doesn't catch it, Blue!!

This utterance came from a coach in a Jr College fall ball game this weekend. 1-1 count, beautiful pitch that catches the outside corner about thigh-high. For some reason, the catcher doesn't hold the ball in her glove. The catcher was set up for the outside pitch and did not have to noticeably move her glove to the pitch.

Is this the "expected" call at the college level? I welcome all opinions, but I am especially intersted in hearing from those of you that do college ball.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
hopefully you rang her up like a customer at a discount mall
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
....the catcher doesn't catch it, Blue!!

This utterance came from a coach in a Jr College fall ball game this weekend. 1-1 count, beautiful pitch that catches the outside corner about thigh-high. For some reason, the catcher doesn't hold the ball in her glove. The catcher was set up for the outside pitch and did not have to noticeably move her glove to the pitch.

Is this the "expected" call at the college level? I welcome all opinions, but I am especially intersted in hearing from those of you that do college ball.
Andy,

Not what you would call a real college umpire. (I only do 5-7 games a year).

However, I always hate it, at no matter what level, when you as blue call a
strike and the catcher misses it. If by "is this the "expected" call, you
mean call it a ball because F2 missed it? No. I would not think so.
Not if ball in your opinion was clearly a strike, it should be called
a strike. You are not responsible for the catcher's abilities.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2004, 11:17pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Andy,

As glen I do only about 10 or so college games a year (BB included). I don't beleive college coaches expect a ball on a pitch the catcher can't handle. If you find one who does, ask them what they would like you to call on a D3K!

Now some travel ball coaches really beleive it. I "lost" a coach who argued that about a month ago.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by JEL
Andy,

As glen I do only about 10 or so college games a year (BB included). I don't beleive college coaches expect a ball on a pitch the catcher can't handle. If you find one who does, ask them what they would like you to call on a D3K!

Now some travel ball coaches really beleive it. I "lost" a coach who argued that about a month ago.
JEL,

I definately agree with you here, however, most, not all D3K's are
pitches swung at and missed by the catcher. It is a good rebuttal to
use though when questioned by a coach and I think I will add it to my
list.

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 01:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
in my opinion that axiom (sp?) only applies to the borderline pitch, kinda the same way that you wouldn't ring up the borderline pitch when the catcher gets crossed up and has to jump or lunge at it

*** Edited to complete the thought***
__________________
John
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 05:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Andy,
I've got no problem with calling that pitch a strike in college. I probably will not call a borderline pitch a strike that isn't caught. Each one is a bit different. I will say to your catcher something like "You'll make it a whole lot easier for me if you catch those."

Then again, don't you have Emily & some others pretty much readily available? I'd be interested in her take, too.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1