The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Mike
Mike Rowe,

ASA Rule 8:2-M-5 states that on an errant throw pulling the defense into foul ground, the defense and the batter-runner can use either the white or colored portion.

I have always allowed this and if I'm doing something wrong, I want to correct it immediately!! Please Advise.

Thanks,
Mike
An "errant throw" is a ball which cannot be caught by the player. This exception to the rule is, as Tom noted, NOT meant to give the defender covering first a wider range, but to a player retrieving a ball from foul ground to be able to tag a part of the base WITHOUT the need to cross the BR's path.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
Double Base Situation tzme415 Softball 4 Wed May 18, 2005 01:58pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
Again double base 1st oppool Softball 4 Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1