The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 8
Double First Base situation

NYSSO/ASA

In a recent game on a bunt play F3 charged the bunt. F5 fielded the ball and threw to 1st base. On the play the F4 covering 1st base set up on the orange side. The throw came right to her as she was set up on orange. The batter runner as she approached the bag saw the fielder on the orange base and slowed down to avoid a crash. She was thrown out on the play and the official ruled that the defense can use either portion as the throw came to the orange base. The batter runner did not go to the white portion but tried to avoid the collision and slowed down.

Questions:

Can F4 set up on either portion if the ball is coming from fair territory?

(Obviously, if the throw takes her to orange, she can use that portion)

Can we have obstruction on the defense (F4)?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Mike
The batter runner as she approached the bag saw the fielder on the orange base and slowed down to avoid a crash.
Unless the fielder already had the ball, this is obstruction.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 27, 2006, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Mike
NYSSO/ASA

In a recent game on a bunt play F3 charged the bunt. F5 fielded the ball and threw to 1st base. On the play the F4 covering 1st base set up on the orange side. The throw came right to her as she was set up on orange. The batter runner as she approached the bag saw the fielder on the orange base and slowed down to avoid a crash. She was thrown out on the play and the official ruled that the defense can use either portion as the throw came to the orange base. The batter runner did not go to the white portion but tried to avoid the collision and slowed down.

Questions:

Can F4 set up on either portion if the ball is coming from fair territory?
She can, but can only get an out while touching the white portion.
Quote:

(Obviously, if the throw takes her to orange, she can use that portion)
No, that would be incorrect.
Quote:

Can we have obstruction on the defense (F4)?
If the umpire judged F4's action impeded the BR, yes. However, this is a HTBT situation for any of us to actually offer a decision.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 07:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 8
Using either portion...

Mike Rowe,

ASA Rule 8:2-M-5 states that on an errant throw pulling the defense into foul ground, the defense and the batter-runner can use either the white or colored portion.

I have always allowed this and if I'm doing something wrong, I want to correct it immediately!! Please Advise.

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Mike
Mike Rowe,

ASA Rule 8:2-M-5 states that on an errant throw pulling the defense into foul ground, the defense and the batter-runner can use either the white or colored portion.

I have always allowed this and if I'm doing something wrong, I want to correct it immediately!! Please Advise.

Thanks,
Mike
What that means to say is... pulling the defense INTO foul ground so they are coming back toward the base for the play. IOW, an overthrow, or at least a throw bad enough that the fielder has to go after it in foul ground. It does not mean the defense can use the orange bag for extra stretch room.

Think of it the same as a D3K... the play to first is coming FROM foul territory.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2006, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Mike
Mike Rowe,

ASA Rule 8:2-M-5 states that on an errant throw pulling the defense into foul ground, the defense and the batter-runner can use either the white or colored portion.

I have always allowed this and if I'm doing something wrong, I want to correct it immediately!! Please Advise.

Thanks,
Mike
An "errant throw" is a ball which cannot be caught by the player. This exception to the rule is, as Tom noted, NOT meant to give the defender covering first a wider range, but to a player retrieving a ball from foul ground to be able to tag a part of the base WITHOUT the need to cross the BR's path.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double first base bkbjones Softball 11 Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm
Double Base Situation tzme415 Softball 4 Wed May 18, 2005 01:58pm
Double Base mach3 Softball 6 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm
Again double base 1st oppool Softball 4 Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1