Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Mike
Mike Rowe,
ASA Rule 8:2-M-5 states that on an errant throw pulling the defense into foul ground, the defense and the batter-runner can use either the white or colored portion.
I have always allowed this and if I'm doing something wrong, I want to correct it immediately!! Please Advise.
Thanks,
Mike
|
An "errant throw" is a ball which cannot be caught by the player. This exception to the rule is, as Tom noted, NOT meant to give the defender covering first a wider range, but to a player retrieving a ball from foul ground to be able to tag a part of the base WITHOUT the need to cross the BR's path.