View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 11, 2006, 03:54am
Steve M Steve M is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
4B,
Lots of question. Let's see about getting you some answers.

When the fielder does not have the ball, the runner has the absolute right to get to & beyond a base in whatever manner she chooses. If the fielder does not yeild, that probably is obstruction.

With your F5 who "My third baseman kind of got in the base path during a rundown, but clearly didn’t touch the runner" No touch is needed. If your F5 got in the way - in any way the runner - that is obstruction.

Let me go back to the definition of obstruction - "Obstruction is the act of the defensive team that hinders or impedes a batter's attempt to make contact with a pitched ball of that impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running the bases, unless the fielder is in possession of the ball or is fielding a batted ball. The act may be intentional or unintentional, physical or verbal."

So, look at the definition, then go back and look at your plays and rethink this - was that obstruction?

Obstruction is not an appeal play. We see it, we call it. If you need a brief explanation of why an umpire did or did not make some call, get timeout and come on out so we can talk.

As for other appeals, in high school ball - you are allowed to make the appeal yourself, from the bench.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote