The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2005, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Maybe I'm thinking of OBR.

Believe it or not, after I posted my question, I had such plays THREE times in one game Monday night.

Runner from 2B, trying to score on a hit to center, obstructed at 3B and in running around the fielder missed the bag.

Later in the same game. Runner obstructed BOTH and 3B and at home on the same play (F5 standing on the front of 3B and same with F2 at home). Runner missed both bases, and in each case I'd say the fielder (apparently irrelevantly) "prevented" the touch in that the runner would have had to get tangled up with the fielder to touch the base.

Luckily for me, in no case did anyone appeal.

Unless the fielder is lying prone across the base and physically preventing the runner from touching any part, the runner must touch the base. 8-5-B.

Is this a rule or opinion?

[Edited by greymule on May 19th, 2005 at 01:40 PM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1